Simple Saturday

Today was VERY lazy. We did nothing productive. But I think we needed it.

I woke up at 6:30 to the sounds of Monkey Boy putting the dishes away. It was my fault. He had forgotten to do it yesterday, so I told him it needed to be the first thing he did in the morning. Silly me didn’t think about the fact that he is almost always the first person awake in our house. Even though I awoke at 6:30, I didn’t get out of bed until nearly 9:00!

After eating breakfast, Nathan and I played a game of Patchwork because the kids said they weren’t interested in playing anything. But just as we started, Squirrel Girl wanted to watch and learn. After Nathan trounced me, SG decided to play against me. Then she beat me!

The rest of the day the family kind of split up. I think we’ve had a bit too much togetherness. 😜 The kids watched tv, I read a book, and Nathan joined some friends virtually to play D&D.

I got a phone call from my dad and we talked about everything and nothing for almost an hour. We haven’t gotten to do that in a long time.

Towards dinner, I reminded the kids that they had a few assignments left to complete before tomorrow, then struggled through helping Monkey Boy while he tried to shut down. He finally got it done, though.

Unfortunately, I kind of had a small meltdown as I made dinner. It was silly. I don’t know exactly why. Nathan made a suggestion about dinner, which I’d already started making, and I lost it. Nathan held me while I cried and couldn’t stop.

Dinner ended up being a huge hit (without his suggestions) and I was told it was a keeper. It was just a simple sheet pan meal of meatballs and green beans. I’m pretty sure Nathan was just trying to make me feel better, but Monkey Boy and Squirrel Girl joined in, so I guess I believe them. 😜

Tomorrow will be a big socializing day. Virtually, of course. But just like we all needed some alone time, we all need to see our friends and feel connected in some way. Hopefully it will be just the thing to get us through the week.

1 Comment

Filed under emotions

One response to “Simple Saturday

  1. Pingback: Starting again – Mother’s Heart Journey 

Leave a comment