Social Sunday

As I said yesterday, today was all about socializing.

Church in the morning via live feed. I actually watched part of the church service in Jamaica first. I loved hearing Luke sing and Pastor Dave’s sermon. 🥰 I pointed out to the kids the curtain behind which the stairs to the rooms we’d stayed in were hidden and the sound of the rooster in the background. It surprised them to learn that church is held outside there! They thought it was cool that I knew the people on the screen, but I think they had a hard time following what was being said due to the accents. I loved it, though. And it made me sad all over again that we won’t be going to Jamaica in July after all. 😢

Pastor Dave finished his sermon just as our church service was starting up. If we can’t be in there in person, I’m glad we at least have the option to watch service online. If anyone is searching for a church, this might be the perfect time to try a few out online so you don’t have to feel awkward in person. Or was that just me when I was looking 9 years ago? I’m so glad I have my church family through this difficult time.

After service we tried to do a Group FaceTime with two families for Sunday School, but couldn’t get connected to one of them, so we did our best with our usual group. Hopefully we can figure it out for next week.

After Sunday School, it wasn’t long before we needed to get lunch ready so Squirrel Girl could have lunch with her Girl Scout friends. It’s funny. They are super talkative in person, but they barely spoke on Zoom. 😂 The adults that stuck around had to ask questions to get a little bit of conversation going. We hope to try again with a project for them to work on to help stimulate them.

After lunch Squirrel Girl came up with a game for us to play. She found some pool diving toys and hid them for us to find. We took turns doing the hiding.

Searching
Not even close.

We played until it was time to Zoom with family! We had a great time hanging out with them. Considering 3 of those boxes were broadcast from Florida and the other 4 were all in the same house, we wish we’d discovered this option a long time ago!

Next year’s Christmas cards? 😜

Afterwards I took a much needed nap thanks to a couple of margaritas and awoke to the wonderful smell of fried rice for dinner. 😋

I’m grateful technology has made it possible to still be social while being distant. I can’t imagine trying to get through this without our friends and family.

1 Comment

Filed under emotions

One response to “Social Sunday

  1. Pingback: Starting again – Mother’s Heart Journey 

Leave a comment