Working Wednesday

Gosh, I seem to be on a roll with the alliteration this week. 😂 Today really was a day filled with work. Between helping teachers solve problems, recording stories for read aloud, helping Monkey and Squirrel with their schoolwork, and attending meetings, the day was pretty much filled. I find myself on the phone or on zoom most of the day. Our days are starting to fall into a pattern.

Working hard
Staying comfy

While our days seem to be settling into a pattern, we are failing in one particular area. We haven’t been outside since finding out the basketball court was closed. I’m wondering if that is contributing to our moodiness. We tend to snap at each other more quickly and take things way too personally. Tomorrow Nathan goes back to work and I think the kids and I need to make a point of getting outside. I ordered some gardening gloves. Maybe it’s time for us to do some weeding.

We’ve come to depend on our technology for more than just work and school. I’d set up a virtual play date for the kids with their friends at 4:00. Unfortunately, right about that time the internet died! I had been in a meeting for work when I got kicked out. Monkey Boy and Squirrel Girl were very frustrated to be so close to seeing their friends just to have it taken away. Finally, around 4:20, we were able to connect again and they spent a bit of time being silly with their friends.

For some reason the internet issues got under my skin and I stayed irritable the rest of the evening. I’d also been having some abdominal pain throughout the afternoon (still am) and it probably contributed as well. I tried to keep it from showing, but Monkey Boy definitely noticed. Unfortunately, he thought it was his doing. He is extra sensitive these days and I can’t convince him that my mood and reactions aren’t his fault.

Tomorrow will be an interesting day. It will be the first day that we’ve been distance learning with Nathan not at home. I’m not sure how that will effect us. I know I’ll be praying throughout the day that his hospital will continue to not have COVID-19 patients and he will be able to come home to us in the evening. 🙏

2 Comments

Filed under emotions

2 responses to “Working Wednesday

  1. Lori Shugart

    Sounds like you all are doing pretty well! I enjoy reading the blog!

  2. Pingback: Starting again – Mother’s Heart Journey 

Leave a comment