Joy or Fear? Your choice.

My day started with Bible study, as usual. And then a friend of mine contacted me about the fear she is feeling right now. It’s taking over her every thought. She’s terrified of this virus. It’s stealing all of her joy.

The podcast Bible study I’ve been doing since January 1 ends every episode with “He is where the joy is.” I’m clinging to my faith through all of this and choosing to look for the joy.

I believe that God puts us in each other’s lives to support one another and point Him out when others are have a hard to seeing His presence. Today I felt compelled to remind my friend to focus on what she can control and quoted the serenity prayer.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen.”

I think we should all repeat this prayer multiple times a day.

When I finally got showered and dressed it was nearly 8. This is much later than the rest of the week. Monkey Boy wanted to know why I hadn’t gone in to wake Squirrel Girl and took it upon himself to do it for me. He’s lucky he’s still alive. 😂

It soon turned into a busy day of work from all three of us. Nathan, who would have been in Chicago for a convention, spent his day painting. SG did her work sitting on my bed while I worked nearby so I couldn’t observe her work habits and hopefully keep her on track. I’m not sure it worked. She is still behind in Reading, Social Studies, and Math (she financial caught up in Science and Writing around 4:00).

I am continuing to have them stop at 10:00 for recess, preferably outside. Today we took chalk to the front yard and decorated our sidewalk and the one across the street. It was a beautiful day and I loved getting to spread joy for others.

Mine
Mine
Monkey Boy’s
Squirrel Girl’s

Once again, Monkey Boy was done with all of his work by lunchtime. Which makes me wonder if he’s completing everything or if SG is doing more than is required. Either could be the answer or maybe both.

At lunch, we opened an envelope sent from some friends we don’t see nearly often enough. Those sweethearts sent homemade bracelets that said “Happiness” and “You Can Do It.” We loves them!

Happiness
You can do it

For Specials I suggested that they watch Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems or Draw Every Day with JJK. They watched both. Drawing brings them joy.

While there were tears when I told SG it was time to put her work away for the day, we finished the day on a good note. SG helped with weeding while MB bounced his basketball (he’s obsessed!).

She chose this as her chore!

After a nostalgic dinner of chicken and rice casserole, it was Nathan’s turn to pick family time. He chose to play Dragon Castle. Spending time together to focus on the joy.

What do you choose? Joy or Doubt and Fear? I know what I pick.

1 Comment

Filed under emotions

One response to “Joy or Fear? Your choice.

  1. Pingback: Starting again – Mother’s Heart Journey 

Leave a comment