Remote Learning Day 2

Today went a little smoother than yesterday. There weren’t as many panicking cries for help because something didn’t open the way they expected. The kids seemed to mostly be able to tackle their work on their own.

We changed up the schedule a bit with schoolwork starting at 8:00. They worked until 9:00 when I made them take a brain break. They both chose to read. They got back to work until 10:00 when it was time for recess! We left the dogs at home so we could jog to the park and play a bit of basketball.

Dribbling the whole way there

I had an online meeting at 10:30 (or so I thought), so we headed back home. Apparently the meeting started at 10:00 and I caught the tail end. Oops. At least I tried!

At 11:00, Monkey Boy had an online meeting with his class. I know the kids were excited to see each other, even if it was over video. Squirrel Girl had her meeting with the same teacher at 12:00. We had a hodgepodge lunch when she finished.

Following lunch it was time for Specials! Since they did Art yesterday, today they did PE. MB is obsessed with basketball these days!

Then it was back to work! There was still unfinished work at the end of the day and a few assignments they couldn’t get to work, but we put all work away at 3:00 anyway. For them, anyway.

As for me, I didn’t have quite as many teachers emailing or texting me questions, but there were still quite a few. I reached out to each grade level to check in and remind them I am here to help. I also assured them that they were doing a great job and I am so proud of them!

In emailing with some teachers that had already had some time to video conference with their students, it was clear that kids need to be made aware of the etiquette of online interaction. So I put together a presentation and recorded a video of myself presenting it. Those I mentioned it to were thankful that I offered to do this.

I’ve also thrown out the idea of recording daily announcements like we had on normal school days. I think the 6th graders that were signed up to be announcers the rest of the year would be excited to be involved. I just need to work out the logistics.

I also fielded questions from parents that happen to be friends. I know it’s beyond frustrating for them when something doesn’t work. They don’t have the background knowledge I have to work around the problem. Thankfully I was able to help at least a little.

Overall, I’m trying to be there for the teachers as much as possible. I always have been, of course, but right now they depend on me more than usual. I miss being able to interact with the students, but I’m glad I’m being useful. I don’t think I could stand it if I had nothing to do right now.

To all of you trying to help your children through this week, bless you. I know there will be tears. Probably some yelling from the kids and from you. Some not so nice language. But remember that the school work is not the most important thing. Yes, do what you can. But also take time to enjoy your family.

We ended the day with family time. It was Monkey Boy’s pick, so we played a video game called Frantics. Lots of laughter and good natured teasing. A perfect way from us all to let go of the stress. We all needed it.

1 Comment

Filed under emotions

One response to “Remote Learning Day 2

  1. Pingback: Starting again – Mother’s Heart Journey 

Leave a comment