Mother of the Year? {Letters to our Children}

Another month has gone by?! Time for {Letters to our Children}

Okay, so I’ll admit I’ve not been that great a mom lately. Not that I’ve become a neglectful, abusive hag or anything, but I have been taking the easy way out a lot of the time. I use the excuse that we’ve been really busy lately (and we have) but I sometimes think I take you out and about just so I don’t have to come up with something to entertain you.

Today you asked to paint. My initial reaction was “NO!” I’ve learned that I’m a huge perfectionist and the mess that results from painting with you two can really make me twitch. But I know that making messes is just a part of being a kid. And I’m trying, REALLY trying, to get over my own personality quirks to let you two explore your own.

So I took the plunge and brought out the finger paints. I could tell that you have been a student of Mommy’s “don’t make a mess” school of thought by the way you were very timid about getting the paint on you.

One finger at a time.

One finger at a time.

Can't get too messy!

Can’t get too messy!

You only used one finger on each hand until I told you to put some paint on your nose so I could take a picture to send to your aunt.

On my nose?!

On my nose?!

You mean we can be messy?

You mean we can be messy?

Then you went to town! LOL. I was cringing inside, but could see how much you were loving every moment.

Now we're talkin'!

Now we’re talkin’!

I has a beard!

I has a beard!

Look at us!

Look at us!

Then I made the mistake of going to the bathroom. The next thing I knew, you were both in the bathroom trying to wash your hands and faces. Your motivation was admirable, but the counter and sinks were quickly becoming blue! Rather than get upset, as I might have on other occasions, I suggested we get into the bath. And because your paint shirts were covered in paint as well, I said to get in with your shirts on! I even added shaving cream to the sides of the bath for you to play in!

Washa-washa-washa!

Washa-washa-washa!

Look!  I clean!

Look! I clean!

The look on your faces as you played was pure joy! I’m so glad I didn’t miss that moment because of my twitchiness about mess. You two continue to teach me more and more every day. I’m still not getting it exactly right, but I think I’ve come a long way!

****************
Some of my friends in my moms group and I have decided to create a blog circle where we will share monthly letters to our children. Please check out my friend, Carolyn’s, beautiful letter to her children here and then follow our circle around until you get back to me.

3 Comments

Filed under emotions

3 responses to “Mother of the Year? {Letters to our Children}

  1. Good for you! Sometimes it’s so hard to just that them be messy. I really have to try and let go more. FYI: The link to the blog circle is not working. Let me know if you fix it. I’d love to check it out.

Leave a Reply

