Sweet Memories {Letters to our children}

I got to thinking yesterday that I’ve been focusing so much on self improvement lately that I haven’t been taking the time to record the sweet memories we are making with our children every day. I certainly don’t ever want to forget these moments.

Lucas

You are such a clown! If you can make us laugh, you will do it over and over and over again. I love that about you. You definitely get that from your dad. Lately you’ve been trying your hand at “jokes.” One of our books (Cowboy and Octopus by Jon Sczeska) has a very bad knock knock joke in it, so you did not have a very good first example. Here are some of your attempts:

L: Knock, knock!
Me: Who’s there?
L: Lucas! HAHAHA

L: Knock, knock!
Me: Who’s there?
L: Lettuce
Me: Lettuce who?
L: Lettuce LucasMamaKyla! HAHAHA

You think you’re the funniest thing around, and most of the time you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

You’ve also taken an interest in baseball recently. I’m not sure if it is because Jake and the Neverland Pirates played baseball in an episode, or if you’re actually going to be drawn to the sport (you haven’t shown as much interest in the other sports played on Jake), but it’s darn cute. We also watched Take Me Out to the Ball Game with Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra a few weeks ago and you have started to sing the song on your own. Too cute!

I don’t know what it is about the way you sing “old ball game” that just makes my heart smile. You even asked for a baseball bat when we got to pick prizes for great behavior and have wanted to play catch with the baseball glove of your grandmother’s that you found. When I asked you if you wanted to play T-Ball you said “No, I want to play baseball.” Until I explained that you start in T-Ball and work your way up to baseball. I also asked if you wanted to take a class where you learn about all kinds of sports and you do show an interest in that, so I think we’ll start there and see what really draws your interest.

You are such a supportive and encouraging little boy. When your sister is trying to put together a puzzle and having a little trouble, you tell her what a great job she’s doing. When Kyla and I were tossing the baseball back and forth, you told us “You guys are doing that so well!” I’m not only proud of your encouraging ways, but your proper grammar as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Which reminds me. You’ve been working SO hard in Speech. Your articulation has come a long way. There’s still work to be done, but you are learning to self correct and we’re able to communicate much better than before you started. I’m so proud of the way you keep on trying. I do see how your silliness can sometimes become a problem when you should be listening (like at swim lessons), but I think it’s mostly because you think you “get it” and are ready to move on before the teacher is. I can see a few teacher conferences about my class clown in the near future.

My baby boy is growing up so much. I’m just glad you still give me those great hugs. They better never stop!

Kyla

Girl, you are such a diva! I love listening to your imagination and watching you direct the show when you and Lucas are playing . Thankfully, you’re also willing to let him lead the way on occasion. Your recent attitude of “Ladies first!” has me thinking of the poem about Pamela Purse in Shel Silverstein’s poem. I will have to look for our copy of A Light in the Attic and read it to you so you don’t suffer the same fate. ๐Ÿ˜‰

You and Lucas have been taking swimming lessons the last 4 weeks and you both have come SO far! However, I can tell that swimming is something you are very determined to master because you pay very close attention to the teacher and have come SO far. You can swim on your back without assistance and you can even swim underwater! Now we just have to work on getting a breath and coordinating those arms and legs a little more and you’ll be a pro in no time! I’m looking forward to getting in the water with you this summer and seeing you grow in this area that I know you love.

You have decided that you want to go back to ballet. I’m not sure where it came from, but one day you said “I don’t want to do gymnastics anymore, I want to do ballet.” Of course, we’re not doing gymnastics right now because we’ve got swimming, but if it’s what you want to do we will make it happen. I’ve asked you if you want to take a class about various sports with Lucas and you refuse. You insist on ballet. You even spent a day in your ballet shoes practicing the things you learned more than 6 months ago! You did say you wanted to do T-Ball with Lucas until I told you that you could only do one activity, at which point you quickly returned to ballet. I guess I need to find a class for you!

You have also come a long way in your articulation. You are getting SO close to mastering that /k/ sound! You love to say “Lllllucas!” now that you’ve figured out how to say that /l/. I find it fascinating that the two of you have such different sounds that you struggle with. But you are both (for the most part) encouraging of each other and I love that.

I can always tell when you’re nervous. When you are unsure or feeling shy, you say “Mama, I love you” about a million times. It’s like you need some reassurance that I’m not going to leave your side. And, Baby Girl, I won’t. You and I may butt heads at least once every single day, but I will always be there for you. You are my Kyla Rose of Texas and the only girl for me.

Some of my friends in my moms group and I have decided to create a blog circle where we will share monthly letters to our children. Please check out my friend Carrieโ€™s beautiful letter to her children here and then follow our circle around until you get back to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under classes, Communication, Letters to our Children, Parenting, preschoolers

Leave a Reply

