Day 4 of my new habit

It’s 6:30 in the morning. I have woken up to my 6:00 alarm every day for 4 days now. So far, not any easier. But when the alarm goes off I tell myself “Two weeks. Do this for two weeks and it will be easier.” I sure hope I’m not lying to myself! I have noticed that once I’m actually out of bed and moving around it’s not so bad. It’s just the initial getting out of bed. And it’s kind of nice being able to get on the computer while everyone else is still sleeping. I suppose I could do something more productive with my time, but this is about all I have the mental capacity for at this hour.

I’m reminded of my daily routine when I was working. Up at 5:00, shower, computer & breakfast, leave for work at 6:00. Yes, I took an hour of “warm up” time before I even left for work. That didn’t even include the fact that I got to work at 6:30 and school didn’t start until 7:30. Yes, I definitely need this warm up time. I know I’m doing the right thing.

And I’ve been trying to keep up with my other new habits as well. I’ve succeeded in being more hands on, I think. Yesterday N was home and all four of us played Kyla’s new game of “Hide and Seek Pictures.” The pictures are quite interesting to see. LOL

Anybody in here?

Anybody in here?

Found Lucas!

Found Lucas!

And there's Mommy.

And there’s Mommy.

Lucas found Kyla!

Lucas found Kyla!

Mommy next.

Mommy next.

Then Daddy.

Then Daddy.

Hiding from Daddy.  He's good!

Hiding from Daddy. He’s good!

She's a little more obvious.

She’s a little more obvious.

I also took them to the park and even though I wanted to cringe when they wanted to play in the sand. I let them. And I tried to just laugh when Lucas took off his overalls at bath time to reveal a layer of sand still clinging to his shirt.

IMG_5106

IMG_5109

Unfortunately, I’m not doing so well with the reading lessons. Not because I’m not doing them, but because only one of my children is interested. I’m not sure how to handle this. I don’t want to “force” either of them to do the work because I don’t want to make them dislike reading. I want them to WANT to learn. It’s supposed to be fun!

But Kyla just looks at me and says “No thank you” when I pull out an activity. Anyone have a suggestion for how to combat this? I’m afraid that she does this because she sees reading coming more easily to Lucas and therefore doesn’t want to try.

When I asked her if she wanted to color the coloring page she said “Lucas can do mine.”

Oh, no, honey! Your brother will NOT be doing your work for you. Ever. Is she seriously going to start this at age 3? I guess this pretty much shows me they will need to be in separate classes for sure. I can see this being an ongoing battle. *sigh*

Overall I’m happy with my efforts to form these new habits. I’m confident I can keep it up.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Parenting, preschoolers, sleep

Leave a Reply

