Miss me?

It has been pointed out to me that some people miss me posting here. Sorry. I didn’t disappear on purpose, or for any real reason. Just didn’t have much to say, I guess. We’ve been busy, yet not. I’ll try to recap.

Christmas:
With N’s sister in town, we spent a lot of time with family, which is part of why I didn’t get any more posts in regarding our Advent activities. Sadly, we did not get all of them done. We were able to do the ones I came up with, but we did not make all of the ornaments. 😦 We did them up until the last week and they really seemed to be enjoying both reading the Bible and the crafts. We now have a Daily Children’s Bible that we read right before prayers and bed time. I really should figure out a way to incorporate more crafts, though.

New Year:
I have decided that this year I’m going to work on taking care of myself better. Exercise, eating healthy, working on our financial situation, relaxing…

I’ve started a Couch to 5K training program and I’m on week 2 (I did week 1 for two weeks). It feels amazing to actually be accomplishing this. I never would have thought that I would be capable of running, but so far so good.

We continue to use Bountiful Baskets for our produce and love all the fruits and veggies we are getting into our diets as a result. I try to make a 2 week meal plan off of each basket, which is also helping save us money.

I started a class through church called Financial Peace University. It’s a Dave Ramsey class. I’ve been to two of the 9 weeks so far and hope we’ll be able to implement his recommendations.

As for relaxation, I got a couple of gift cards for massages, which I hope to use soon and I got a gift card for Groupon.com that I’ve used part of for a Girls’ Night that a couple of friends and I plan to use soon. I’m really thankful that I’ve got some girl friends I can go out with and can’t wait to go. It’s been too long since our last night out.

When my aunt asked me what I wanted for my Christmas present (she drew me in our family drawing) I decided I wanted to take a class. So she gave me the money to sign up for a Writer’s Workshop, which starts February 20th. It’s online, so it won’t matter what N’s schedule is, but it will be something that I’m doing just for me. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes of it.

Last but not least, I want to work on making my relationship with my husband more of a priority. He’s important to me and I know that I sometimes don’t show that to him. The Bible says that I should put my husband above my children and, like most moms, I know I haven’t been doing that the way I should. I’m focusing on ways to show him that he matters and that I love him for the man and father he is (more on that later, I hope).

Vacation:
We’re going on vacation! We’ve been planning this for about 6 months and I am SO excited. We’re going to Disney World! SIL works there, which is helping with the expenses. I cannot wait to see the kids’ reactions to everything.

This will be the first time I’ve ever been to Disney with kids (We went for our honeymoon and several times since. We even stayed on property when the kids were 10 months old, but didn’t go to the parks). It will be a whole new experience.

We’ve been preparing the kids for the last couple of weeks so that (hopefully) they won’t be freaked out by the characters like they were the first time we ran into Santa this year (wouldn’t even look at him!). I printed out a calendar for each of them to “count down” to when we leave. They put a sticker on each day when they wake up. They love it and it’s the first thing Lucas wants to do each morning. We’re getting close!

Schedule:
We’ve gotten more of a weekly schedule going again now that the holidays are over. A typical week looks like this:

Monday- Music & Movement at the Library
Tuesday- Open Gym at the Rec Center, lunch, and Speech
Wednesday- Speech in the morning, church in the evening
Thursday- We try to get together with our friends for a play date
Friday- Home day
Saturday- Errands (we try to split the kids up when we can)
Sunday- Church

I need to actually incorporate more school type stuff into our days again, but figured that could wait until we’re back from our vacation. I do have some plans for incorporating some learning into our trip (how could we not?!), though. I’ll try to type those up before we leave if I get time (or when we’re back if I don’t).

For those of you that missed me, I’m sorry I disappeared. I’ll probably be gone for a bit again while I prepare for our trip and while we’re gone, but rest assured that I will be back, hopefully with great stories from Disney World. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Advent, classes, family, husband, money, Parenting, planning, preschoolers

One response to “Miss me?

  1. Cathy

    Pictures, Pictures. I want a Disney World Smilebox! Enjoy every moment!

Leave a Reply

