Thankful Month

When Halloween was over I needed to refocus the kids on something else (not that it’s worked, but I’m trying). So I talked to them about Thanksgiving and we read our “What is Thanksgiving” book by Michelle Medlock Adams. Then I showed them a calendar (I really need to start incorporating that into our lessons!) and we talked about how many days there were until Thanksgiving.

I then suggested that we make a paper chain to help us count down. The kids helped me cut strips of construction paper and link them together in a pattern (Pattern Power!). We hung it in a spot in the living room that we would see often to remind us to remove a link each day.

Countdown chain

Countdown chain

We then took our first link off and I suggested we write something they are thankful for on the paper. They immediately said they were thankful for each other. Okay, they said “Kyla and Lucas!” but that’s the same thing, right? 😉 They wanted to write it themselves (did I mention they are now writing their own names?!), so I let them. Can you see it?

Day 01

Kyla & Lucas

The next day we took off a link and they said “Mom-Mom!” (that’s what they call my MIL). They both insisted on writing it themselves. Kyla wrote “Momom” (she didn’t quite understand when we were telling her to write “mom” twice), but took up so much room there wasn’t room for Lucas to write, so I gave him a spare strip of paper and he wrote “Mom.”

Day 02

Mom-Mom
Mom

On day 3 they decided they were thankful for Dad. They’ve never written Dad before, so this is pretty impressive!

Day 03

DAD (Kyla) Dad (Lucas)

Today was Day 4 and I love what they came up with. God and Jesus (okay, okay, I might have edged them in this direction, but they really did come up with it!). Lucas didn’t know how to write a G, so I wrote the word on a scrap piece of paper and let him look at it while he wrote. Not bad! Then Kyla wanted to write Jesus, so I wrote it for her to look at. She struggled, but I was proud of her for continuing to try instead of saying it was too hard and giving up (something she frequently will do).

Day 04

God (Lucas) Jesus (Kyla)

I’m really enjoying this spontaneous activity. I totally did not intend for it to be a lesson in writing, but ever since they figured out how to write their names they have been wanting to write everywhere. It’s exciting to see them so enthusiastic. I look forward to seeing what they come up with for the remaining 18 days!

3 Comments

Filed under fun, Parenting, preschoolers

3 responses to “Thankful Month

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Love this idea! I have joined in the thankfulness fun on Facebook this year, but should do this with the kids. I am looking for ways to help the kids understand Thanksgiving, and I think this is a fantastic way to start! Let me know if you decide to try this, too!

  2. Love this idea! I have joined in the thankfulness fun on Facebook this year, but should do this with the kids. I am looking for ways to help the kids understand Thanksgiving, and I think this is a fantastic way to start! I am sharing this with my blog community, I love it so much. So simple yet so helpful. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Top 10 ways to teach thankfulness to your children… «

Leave a Reply

