P Week(s)

We’ve been crazy busy the last several weeks, but not specifically on learning letters. We had the week of birthdays (first my nephew, then Kyla & Lucas), then we had a week of doctor’s appointments, play dates, and family time, followed with a week of VBS. Needless to say, I’m exhausted. So today we’re just chillin’. Yes, I’ll admit to turning on the TV when the kids woke up so I could get an extra 45 minutes of sleep and right now they are watching Cars 2. We did go on a walk this morning, though, so we haven’t been completely lazy!

I did try my best to incorporate our P lessons into our activities. Since we were doing letter P, it was pretty easy to point out the letter in our play time. The costumes they got for their birthday meant lots of pretend play, including (but not limited to) pirates and princesses. We played with play dough, on their new play set, traced the letter P (they even managed to write the letter once or twice on their own with instruction), and painted. We also used chalk in the rain (though it had nothing to do with the letter lessons 😉 ). I can’t really remember everything we did, since it was so spread out and mostly spur of the moment.

All in all, it was a pretty relaxed approach, but it was the best I could do with all the other things going on. I plan to start the letter S this week and continue to incorporate the letter P as well. I’ve started trying to show them how to sound out words and even got Kyla to sound out the word “map” at one point. We’ll be working on that more and more in the next couple of weeks.

For now, enjoy some pics of them playing dress up:

Chef Lucas

Chef Lucas


Princess Kyla

Princess Kyla


Super Lucas

Super Lucas


Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty?

Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty?

2 Comments

Filed under emotions

2 responses to “P Week(s)

  1. I love your little sleeping beauty, so precious. That chef jacket is awesome, I’ll have to get one for Drew. He loves playing in the kitchen and has a little chef hat. Dress up is so much fun, we’ve been doing a lot of that here but not with the cool costumes you have, just with random clothes around the house.

    • Alyssa, I actually made that chef costume (made one for Kyla too, but she’s yet to put it on). I also made pirates and cowboy/cowgirl. I’ll be making doctor/nurse scrubs soon, too. I just ran out of time before their birthday. 🙂 If you want to talk, I can hook you up. 😉

Leave a Reply

