Bible reading

This evening we got home right at bed time and Kyla was saying she didn’t want to go potty. So I told her that if she went potty, I would pick up for her. Then she insisted that she would read a story to me (since it usually happens the other way around). I couldn’t resist hearing what she would read to me. She chose the Bible. Yes, my friends, the Bible. πŸ™‚ So here is Kyla’s interpretation of the Bible (with some help from Lucas).

K- Jesus was born in castle.

M- A castle? Don’t you mean a stable?

K- No. Jesus born in castle with Princess.

M- Jesus was born in a castle with a princess?

K- Yes, Princess Kyla and Prince Lucas.

M- Then what happened?

K- A dragon came and blowed it down.

M- A dragon? What did Jesus do?

K- He cry.

M- What did Princess Kyla do?

L- Built a new castle made of ice. Dragon can’t blow down.

M- Where was Jesus?

K- He in burnt castle. With he Mama Mary. Kyla in burnt castle with Jesus and Mama, too. Prince Lucas in ice castle.

L- Prince Lucas not in ice castle. He in burnt castle too.

M- So everyone was in the burnt castle?

K- Built new castle with bricks.

M- That was smart.

K- Dragon not blow down.

L- (blowing)

M- What’s happening in this picture? (picture of Last Supper)

K- Castle blowed down.

M- It looks like a party. Do you think they are celebrating the dragon going away?

K- Yeah!

M- Is that the end?

K- The end!

L- (still blowing)

I don’t think I got it word for word, but that’s the gist of the story. The whole time I was mentally trying to record every word. It was just too cute! Unfortunately, the process of getting them to bed kind of made some of it vanish (don’t you just love that short term memory?!). I SO wish I’d had a video camera going!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Parenting, toddlers

2 responses to “Bible reading

  1. I need to get your version of the bible, it sounds much more entertaining than the one I have.
    I love this age, it makes me laugh so much every day.

  2. This was so much fun to read! I especially enjoyed the way Lucas was blowing and his comment “Prince Lucas not in ice castle. He in burnt castle too.” – like Hey, I don’t want to be left out! I love it πŸ™‚ And I agree with Alyssa, you have a very entertaining version of the Bible there! Though I get the impression that I might have to have a ‘Kyla’ to go along with it in order to get those special interpretations of it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

