Slow week

Just noticed it’s been almost a week since my last post. That’s unusual lately! I have a few “excuses” but mostly I’ve just not felt inspired. I didn’t really do much with the kids this week. Lucas was sick for part of it and we weren’t able to get together with our usual friends. We did go to a local “Jungle Safari” play place on Friday, but I didn’t bring my camera and it really wasn’t anything too spectacular. There are other places that are better and cheaper. Oh well. Live and learn.

I had problems with my computer (more than usual) that resulted in my getting a new computer. That shut me down for a full day as I transferred all of my “stuff” from the old computer to the new one. And earlier in the week I worked on cleaning out the play room. I’m still not done, unfortunately. I need to put all the toys back into a “home” and rearrange the room to be more conducive to learning and play. I can’t say I haven’t had the time to work on it. Just not the energy.

One exciting thing that did happen this week is that I joined a produce co-op! I picked up our first basket yesterday. For just $15 we got all of this:

2 English cucumbers
1 Salad Savoy
2 heads Romain Lettuce
1 head cabbage
1 bag russet potatoes (+1)
1 bag carrots (+2)
2 bunches green onions
5 tomatoes
8 oranges
9 bananas
1 Canary Melon
1 bag small apples (+1)

I am so excited. So far I’ve used the savoy (made “chips” out of them), cucumber (1/4 of one), green onions (3), and bananas (3) in our meals and the kids have each had 2 apples and several bananas (we’re down to just 3!). We’ll be digging into the oranges soon, now that we’ve finished off the cuties I’d already had. Tomorrow I have plans to make a Greek Salad and Chicken Wrap, so several of the vegetables will be used. I’m looking forward to it! I also plan to cut up the canary melon to have for snack. Lucas already told me he wants some when he saw it in the fridge. We’ll see if he still says that when it’s in front of him! 😉

Also, we will be attending my niece’s first birthday party on Saturday. I decided to put together a discovery tub for her, as her mother has expressed an interest in the things I do with my kids. Granted, I didn’t do discovery boxes with my kids, per se (we did have drawers we would pull out each day with a variety of their toys inside, so I guess it was similar), but I’ve learned a lot since those foggy days of their fist year! LOL

Here’s what I put in the tub:

Red rag
Pool noodles cut at various lengths (red, blue, and green)
Sponge
Flowers (from a lei that I dismantled)
Pipe Cleaners
Strainer
Pink Elephant Bath Puppet
Fisher Price Stack & Roll Cups

I’ve also thought about adding some fabric scraps of various textures, but want to make sure to finish the edges, so that will depend on if I have the time to do that. The box is completely full already, so it doesn’t “need” anything more. But it’s always hard to know when to stop. 😉 I’m sure it will look like a strange gift to the other people that are there, but I am certain my niece and her mom will love it. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under family, feeding, illness, Parenting, toddlers

Leave a Reply

