Not in the plan (a heart post)

I haven’t mentioned it on here because I don’t like to dwell, and because I have so many new readers lately that really aren’t here to read about my heart. But you’ll all have to bear with me today.

First, a bit of a background. Ive been having some issues with chest pain the last several months. I have been working with my doctors (plus a few extras) to figure out what is going on. The latest step was to have a cardiac catheterization to check out the pressures in my heart and around my valves. That was this morning. And now I’m typing this from my bed in ICU.

I was supposed to be home tonight. This isn’t a “big deal” procedure. But apparently my heart didn’t like it. When they put in the catheter my heart went into v-tach, which required my ICD to give me a shock to get me out of. Then when they injected the contrast, it went really nuts. I was shocked a total of 7 or 8 times. So they’re keeping me overnight to make sure my heart behaves now that they’re not messing with it anymore.

On the plus side, we do know now what is causing the chest pain. Basically the muscle around my pulmonary valve is narrowed, making it difficult to get adequate blood flow, especially when exerting myself. If it had been the valve itself, they would have ballooned it in the cath. But being muscle, that would do no good. The only way to fix it is open heart surgery. So now the question is, is it worth doing surgery.

They are giving the data to a surgeon and bringing my case to an ACHD conference the first Tuesday in March to figure out if the surgery would help, or bring me closer to transplant. Fortunately, we have time. It’s not something we have to decide today. But I’d be lying if I said it doesn’t scare me.

2 Comments

Filed under doctor's appts., emotions, heart, Heart Project

2 responses to “Not in the plan (a heart post)

  1. Lori Shugart

    Praying for you and hoping all goes well with whatever you decide!

  2. So glad to hear (via FB) that you are home. Sorry you are going through all this but I hope that the conference yields some positive feedback and medical advice for you. I’ll be keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

