Chores

When I was growing up we didn’t have chores in my family. I’m not sure why, but we didn’t. None of us was required to do the dishes (though we were *expected* to put our own dishes in the dishwasher), or vacuum the house, or anything like that. I don’t know if that has anything to do with why I’m such a lousy housekeeper, but I certainly didn’t complain about it at the time. However, I do think chores are a good thing for kids. I think it teaches responsibility and a sense of contributing to the family. I’ve seen some ideas on Pinterest of chores even toddlers can do, talked it over with N, and have decided it’s time to start giving my kids a little more responsibility. Age appropriate, of course.

I found a simple daily chore chart template at Over The Big Moon and have been working the last two days to put together daily charts for my kids. I think this is going to help us teach a few different things.

  1. Life Skills
  2. Responsibility
  3. Setting Goals
  4. Days of the week

I’ve finally got them finished and hope to start implementing them on Monday. Between now and then, I will be talking to them and teaching them how to accomplish several of the items that will be new to them. I decided to have them alternate on some of the chores (clearing the dishes from the dinner table and feeding the dogs) but allow them to choose if they want to help their sibling or not. I hope this will teach them that if someone helps you it is nice to help them in return, but also that sometimes we have to do things alone. We’ll see how that goes.

Bigger chores they will do together (wiping windows, sweeping floors, etc.). Obviously I don’t expect them to be very good at these things yet. But my hope is that by starting now it won’t be so hard to get them to do them later (one can dream, right?).

Here is an example of one chart I made.

Chore Chart

Sample chore chart

I’m thinking their “reward” for completing their chores for the day will be to either stay up 5 extra minutes or to pick the story we read before bed. Another idea I had was to put a nickle into a piggy bank every day that they complete their chores. I haven’t quite figured that out yet. I don’t exactly want there to need to be a reward, but don’t know if it will work without one. I may try it without at first and see how that goes. Anyone with advice on this, please share!

Oh, and I think I may have figured out why my mom didn’t give us chores… This is going to mean way more work for me! LOL

4 Comments

Filed under family, House, husband, Parenting, toddlers

4 responses to “Chores

  1. debut dad

    great idea! I think the piggy bank idea works as you’ll be teaching them the basics about saving money 🙂

  2. Pam

    I love seeing how people make the chore charts work for their own family! Thanks so much for linking up the Pre-K Chore Charts! Good luck implementing it!

    Pam
    http://www.overthebigmoon.com

  3. Love it. My two like to help. ( especially with cleaning, even though they usually make a bigger mess!) I am thinking of a reward chart for potty training which isn’t going so well…….but that’s another story. I think the simple chore chart is awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    • Lyzz, I have a reward chart for my two for potty training. They have to fill a row with stickers (7 stickers per row) and at the end of the row they get a treat. It can be a good motivator, but sometimes they don’t really care. If you want to see the “chart” we made, let me know and I can email it to you.

Leave a Reply

