More Winter

We had a good week. Tuesday our friends came over for Tot Time. I went ahead and did the Winter theme we had to skip last week. My kids had done a couple of the activities already, but they had no issues with doing them again. Plus, having done them once already, I was able to adapt a bit to make it better.

To start off with, I made a pile of winter clothes on the floor and told the kids “Brrr! It’s cold! We should get our coats on!” I then encouraged each of them to select a coat, scarf, hat, and gloves. Only my two did, though. I think I may have confused the other two. 😉

Winter Kyla

Winter Kyla


Winter Lucas

Winter Lucas

After they were bundled up in their winter clothes I brought out the pieces to our box snow man (found the idea on Pinterest). All four of the kids got involved making the snowman. So cute! I also let them color on the snowman when they were done.

Winter Lucas

Winter Lucas


Coloring the snowman

Coloring the snowman

Next we had a snowball fight (with cotton balls). They had a blast! Kyla and Lucas even asked to have more snowball fights later in the week. (Sorry. No pictures. I was too busy throwing snowballs.)

We then tried the Do-a-Dot “S is for Snowman” page that I did with my kids last week. It’s interesting what a difference 4 months can make at this age. Either that or personality. Not sure which. My two immediately started carefully placing dots in each circle. The other two randomly dotted the page and somehow (I didn’t even know they would do this) made the ink splatter all over the place. Kyla looked at them like they were crazy, but Lucas thought it looked kind of fun and joined in. I let it go for a little bit, but when I saw the green splatters all over Lucas’s white shirt, I had to put a stop to it (thankfully, the ink IS washable, though they don’t state that on the package). I know, I’m no fun.

S is for Snowman

S is for Snowman

To make up for it, I brought out the shaving cream for some snow painting. When I did this with the kids last week I mixed the shaving cream with glue and gave the kids snowflakes to paint. This was pointless. The paper became so wet there was no way it would ever dry without sticking to whatever surface I placed it on to dry and I was paranoid the whole time about the flecks that Lucas flung across the room when he shook his hands. So this time I simply put straight saving cream directly on the table and let the kids go to town. They hat a lot of fun. They all have their own styles, which is funny. They boys were much less concerned about mess than the girls.

Snow paint

Snow paint

I didn’t get any pictures, but we had the kids make their own pizzas using sandwich thins as the crust. Of course, I suggested to them that they make them look like snowmen, but none of them really did. All the kids ate really well. Mine ate every bite of theirs and I thought it was funny that Kyla and Lucas asked to make pizza again the next morning for breakfast. Who was I to argue?

C and I agreed that the activities went really well this week. All of the kids seem to be getting better at doing the activities we set up for them. Either that or we’re getting better at planning things they’ll do. 😉 I look forward to seeing what she has planned for next week!

I’m linking up to Tot School. To see more activities for little ones, visit Tot School.
Tot School

It’s Playtime!
It's Playtime at hands on : as we grow

Leave a comment

Filed under friends, fun, Parenting, socializing, toddlers, Tot School

Leave a Reply

