Advent- Day 13

Today’s activity became (yes, I’ve been rearranging A LOT) “Take Christmas photos.” It was easy to fit it into our day, since the plan was to go to a Photo Mom play date where we would be taking Holiday Lights Bokeh (for those of you that don’t know what that means, it’s those pictures with the hazy/glowy lights in the background).

The host mom had set up a background stand with white lights on white string hanging behind a gauzy white fabric. The other 3 moms and I each had our turn trying to get pictures of our kids and learning how to set our cameras to get the desired effect. I know others were having a lot of trouble getting the “orbs” of light to be very big, but I think I managed to do pretty well. I think that has a lot to do with the fact that right before we left, I read a blog post that explained how to take Bokeh pictures. I switched to my 50mm lens and set the aperture to 1.8 (the biggest/lowest # that lens will go). While I did have some trouble getting good shots of my kids (they just love to make weird faces and won’t ever sit/stand close enough to get both in the picture), I think the effect I was going for worked pretty well in most of my shots. I did bribe them with candy canes and cookies, but it was still hit or miss on facial expressions. Here are some of the best ones I got.

Kyla & Lucas

This was the only halfway decent shot I got of the both of them together. I hate that Kyla's a little out of focus, but otherwise I like it.


Kyla Bokeh

I don't know why, but I love the expression on her face. I can totally hear her teenage self saying "You want me to do what?!" with a nice eye roll to accompany.


Lucas Bokeh

I bribed Lucas with the promise of cookies if he'd let me take "two more pictures." I took 3 and this was the best I got. Unfortunately, another kid got in the shot, so I had to crop it a little funny.


Lucas Tree Bokeh

This was my favoriate and it was totally by accident. I was just taking a picture of Lucas and didn't even realize there was a tree behind him with lights on it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Advent, friends, fun, Parenting, photography, socializing, toddlers

Leave a Reply

