Advent- Day 3

I’ve already started rearranging the activities in the pockets! Things will be super busy the next two days, so I knew I needed to make those days’ activities easy and quick to do. Which meant decorating was NOT going to happen. Instead, I moved decorating to today.

Now, I got an email from a friend who was shocked to think that I could imagine decorating my house in one day with toddlers “helping.” I have to clarify what “decorating” means in this house. Seriously, we have hardly any decorations at all. When I pulled out the decorations this morning they consisted of one snowman family ornament (that usually just sits on a shelf), three nut crackers, and a box full of ball ornaments with snowmen on them. Yes, folks, it’s a sad, sad excuse for decorating in this house. (We do have a tree, though, A sad hand-me-down Charley Brown tree from my grandmother.)

You need to understand a few things. First of all, when I was growing up we NEVER spent Christmas at home. We always traveled to my grandparents’ house, 4 hours away. I don’t recall many decorations going up at our house, and we never had a Christmas tree that I can remember. Now, my grandmother decorated all over the house, but since we really only visited the one time of year (occasionally we’d make a summer visit, but for some reason those don’t stick in my memory as much), it seemed like it was just what her house must always look like. I remember one year my sister taking a string of lights and putting them on the bush outside our front door and that was the entirety of the decorating done for our house. Pretty pathetic. It’s not that we didn’t enjoy Christmas or get into the Christmas Spirit. It just wasn’t about the decor.

N’s mom, on the other hand, did the decorating thing BIG time. So this year, when I was realizing that we didn’t have much in the way of decorations and we don’t have the money to go buy any, I called her up and asked if we could steal some of hers from storage (she lives in a much smaller house than she used to).

This morning we did not have those decorations, so when we did our Advent Activity the only things I had were the nutcrackers and ball ornaments. The “decorating” was over so fast and I was disappointed (the kids weren’t, since they don’t know any different). But I felt like we needed more, so I pulled out paper, crayons, and scissors and got to work with the kids making snowflakes to hang in the window. Even N joined in! I also made a couple of “snowflakes” with yarn and craft sticks (that look a lot like the spider webs we made a few weeks ago. πŸ˜‰ ).

home made snowflakes

This evening N’s mom came over and brought us tons of decorations! We now have a big stuffed snowman sitting in our entryway that both kids have repeatedly hugged and told “I love you.” πŸ™‚ I have not had a chance to go through the rest of the boxes yet, but look forward to doing that with the kids. Thankfully, the Advent Activity simply said “START decorating” not that we had to do all of it. πŸ˜‰ I imagine we’ll be decorating right on up to December 25th! LOL

Leave a comment

Filed under Advent, family, Parenting, toddlers

Leave a Reply

