30 Days to Hands on Fun- Day 12

First of all, I just want to say that Kyla seems to be doing better today and I didn’t take her to the doctor. I’ve never been so relieved for another person to pee!

Today’s activity suggestion was a field trip. I pretty much knew as soon as I read it that it wasn’t going to happen, since N and I had plans for the day and MIL would be watching the kids for us. But I didn’t want to miss out on my 15 (or more) minutes of play, so I came up with something on my own. It wasn’t a huge hit, but it kept us entertained for about 20 minutes.

I went into the play room (formerly our dining room) and pulled out the bucket o’ figures. I “try” to keep like things together, and this particular bucket has mostly some Disney bathtub figures (which have never been in the bathtub) with a few Little People, Ark animals, and home made stuffed fish thrown in.

Pretend play

These are just a few of the figures in the bucket (reinactment after the kids were in bed).

I dumped the whole tub in the middle of the living room and just started playing with various characters. I made them talk to each other, sing songs, etc. It didn’t take long for both kids to come over and join in. Mostly they watched me, but eventually they picked up characters and started making them “talk” too. Somehow all the characters ended up at the “beach” and they had to “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” until Daddy came along and tried to eat Nemo. LOL As the scene died down, Lucas saw the Magna Tiles under the coffee table (don’t ask me why they were there) and decided he wanted to play with them. What I should have done was continue to play along with them and help them build houses and other structures for the characters, but I was a bad mom and stepped back to let them play while I checked the computer real quick. I really do need to get over this stinking addiction to the computer. *sigh*

Anyway, just as MIL was arriving, the kids decided they wanted to go outside. So I told her that she could take them out back if she wanted or even take them for a walk. When N and I returned from our afternoon out with friends they showed us the biggest acorns I’ve ever seen, as well as some big leaves, that they found on their walk. I have no idea how we’ve missed these on our previous walks, but they are really cool.

Mom-Mom walk

BIG acorns and leaves!

So without even knowing it, MIL got the kids to do yesterday’s activity! 😉

Join the 30 Days to Hands on Play Challenge!

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Day Challenge, family, fun, Parenting, toddlers

One response to “30 Days to Hands on Fun- Day 12

  1. Love the idea of all the play time! I really need to be better at setting up some sort of structure. Usually a friend comes over and we chat while the kids play, which is great for us but there isn’t a whole lot of parent/child interaction. Also, I saw the part about playing with magna tiles. I just ordered some for my twins for Christmas. I am hoping they like them! They love to build with megablocks so I am hoping they will like these too.

Leave a Reply

