30 Days to Hands on Play- Day 10

Today’s suggested activity was “Mixing Concoctions.” Two of the suggestions were to mix baking soda and vinegar and mixing corn starch with water.

It’s a good thing I chose to do this activity first thing in the morning. I don’t think it would have happened otherwise. The day went downhill pretty fast. Lucas is not feeling well and that generally makes everyone pretty miserable. Though he did seem to be feeling a bit better by the time we put him to bed.

Anyway, I got everything set up while the kids were eating breakfast. I tried to figure out the best possible set up for the least amount of mess (remember my twitchy feeling from yesterday?). But I also wanted the kids to be the ones doing the mixing.

Concoctions

Everything was premeasured so they couldn't go overboard.

I gave them the jars and baking soda first, telling them to pour the baking soda into the jars. Then I gave them each a small cup of vinegar and a medicine dropper.

Kyla Mad Scientist

Kyla Mad Scientist


Lucas Mad Scientist

Lucas Mad Scientist

They’re getting much better at using the droppers. I’m glad we’ve had these activities to work on this skill that I had never even thought to work on! But the droppers only gave us a little bit of bubbles. So I told them to try pouring the vinegar in.

Science is fun!

Science is fun!


Whoa!

Whoa!

We then tried adding more baking soda, which did nothing. So I gave them more vinegar (not died this time), and we got a great reaction!

Overflow!

Overflow!

Oddly enough, this one did not make me twitchy. It was the next concoction. The corn starch and water. For those of you that don’t know, the two mixed together make a liquid/solid substance that if you squeeze it, it becomes solid, but if you hold it in your hand for a minute it “melts” into liquid. Well, I didn’t get the measurements right (went off memory and was dead wrong), and there was way too much water. We kept adding corn starch, but ran out and still had mostly liquid. Though they did get to see the effect some.

Corn starch and water

Corn starch and water

The most fun, of course, was splashing the spoons into the water (Cue the twitching!). Little dots of corn starch water were EVERYWHERE. I tried to get a good picture of Kyla, who looked like she had yellow chicken pox (I’d died it yellow with food coloring), but the sun was coming in the window and landing right on her, so all the pics I took came out bad. Here’s the table, though (the floor and their chairs looked similar).

The twitchy part

The twitchy part

I still haven’t gotten it all clean. Every time I tried, someone would want me to do something. I didn’t get to do anything at nap because that was when I took Lucas to the doctor (double ear infection and sinus crud). And they were up later than usual (We decided to watch Cars 2 after dinner. What were we thinking?), so I’m up later than usual. And am I cleaning the mess? Nope. I’m blogging. I’ve got my priorities straight! LOL

I have to admit that these challenges are really helping me to find things my kids enjoy that I probably wouldn’t have thought to do otherwise. In an effort to meet the challenges, I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and that’s a very good thing for them. After all, the things I enjoy aren’t necessarily what they enjoy and vice versa!

Join the 30 Days to Hands on Play Challenge!

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Challenge, fun, Parenting, toddlers

2 responses to “30 Days to Hands on Play- Day 10

  1. This is very Montessori-like (my kids went to a Montessori kindy when they were little) – it looks as though the children were having a brilliant time. Well done.

  2. That’s some awesome sensory and concoction mixing! So awesome that you did two! We gotta do the cornstarch one yet. It looks so neat!

Leave a Reply

