Tot School- At the beach & more

This week has been fun! This week’s Tot Time was at our house. We had hoped to start our Tot Time back in July and had chosen a Beach theme at that time. Unfortunately, schedules got crazy and it didn’t happen. So it might be a little strange to be studying the beach in September, but hey, the kids had fun!

To start with, I chose several beach related books from the library. I read this one to the kids at the start of our day:

All You Need for a Beach

Then we went outside to play in the sand table, where I’d hidden seashells for the kids to find.

Sand & Shells
Sand play

The water table was set up as well. Which soon became a mud table as all the kids carried sand and shells across the yard to it. LOL

Sand in water table

I had several beach balls and intended to work with the kids on kicking, rolling, and throwing the balls. We did it a little bit, but it didn’t hold anyone’s interest.

I then pulled out some playclay (got the recipe from First Art by MaryAnn F. Kohl) and a muffin tin of beach supplies.

Beach supplies

Lucas and Kyla really got into working with the clay (we’ve been doing a lot of playdough lately). E played some, but N mostly felt that we needed more sand! πŸ˜‰

Lucas's creation
Kyl & the playclay
E having fun
N and the sand

As the kids started getting antsy, I pulled out the “Mini Beaches on Ice” that I’d made the night before (a little sand, a couple of little shells, and water frozen in an ice cube tray while I went inside and made lunch.

Mini Beach on Ice

(You can't see the sand and shells as well as I'd hoped because the ice got cloudy)

After lunch, I pulled out these sticker beach scenes. Kyla and Lucas were all about the stickers. E and N just wanted to play, which was fine.

Beach stickers

(I bought a beach sticker book and attached them to construction paper, then added a sand paper S and wrote in the rest of the letters)

Our friends went home, but the learning continued throughout the week. We read more beach books.


The kids have really been enjoying the beach books and have asked me to read them over and over. I love that my kids love to read!

I had also made a couple of other activities for our Beach Day that had not gotten used on Tuesday, but we tried out later in the week. They did surprisingly well, though I did guide them through the process. I hope to see how they do at these activities (or ones like them) on their own.

Counting Shells
These Counting Shells were printed from Playing House

Beach patterning

I got this Beach Patterning printable from Kidsparkz.com

We also brought out the watercolors on Thursday. Mostly it was a “get them out of Mommy’s hair” kind of activity, but hey, they had fun!

Kyla painting
Lucas painting

I’d say we had a pretty good week. It’s amazing what can be accomplished when Mommy actually gets some sleep!

I’m linking up to Tot School. To see more activities for little ones, visit Tot School.
Tot School

I’m also linking to Read, Explore, Learn at JDaniel4’s Mom.
Shibley Smiles

6 Comments

Filed under friends, fun, growth and development, Parenting, ReadExploreLearn, socializing, toddlers, Tot School

6 responses to “Tot School- At the beach & more

  1. What a wonderful beach themed lesson! I love all the ways you tied in the theme as I am very fond of unit studies! Good job! Oh, I read recently that if your boil the water before you pour it into the ice cube tray, it will freeze clearer. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

  2. It was a great day for sure!!! πŸ™‚

  3. We are heading to the beach on Sunday! We will play in the sand too. Thank you for linking to Read.Explore.Learn.

  4. I’d take a trip to the beach in September if I could πŸ™‚ I love your mini beaches. Great ideas!

  5. Very cute! Love the muffin tin activity idea – you are like queen of muffin tins πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

