Tot School- Safety Week

This week did not go entirely as planned. Oh, Tot Time with our friends was great, but the time at home was not as focused as I would have liked. Mostly because of the sleep issues we’ve been having with Lucas. However, not all was lost. I had wanted to start our letter of the week activities, but didn’t make it past Monday. We did accomplish a few things, though.

To start with, I bought a 101 cookie cutter set and the kids enjoyed using them with the play dough (I didn’t get a picture of that, but Kyla also made a “house” that you can see pictured below). In reality, I did most of the work, but they sure liked to have me cut out a “K for Kyla” or “L for Lucas” over and over again. As well as several other shapes.

Kyla's "house"

Kyla's "house"

The weather was absolutely gorgeous this week, which meant that we spent some time in the back yard. It surprised me to realize how long it had been since we’d been out there. They really enjoyed playing in the sand and water tables. And despite my keeping them across the yard from each other, they found it amusing to take sand to the water table and vice versa.

Sand table

Sand!


Water table

Water!

Lucas also discovered how to climb a tree (granted, it was a Crepe Myrtle, so not all that much “climbing” was involved), which meant that his sister had to give it a try as well. She really enjoyed posing for me. Him, not so much. LOL

Lucas in a tree

Monkey boy


Kyla in a tree

Cheese!

Inside, we brought out some new magnet letters and alphabet cards. They’re getting quite good at telling me which letters go with which pictures. I don’t know that they “get” the alphabet concept just yet, though. Lucas will hold up the Y and say “Yak!” but he doesn’t know what the letter is or what sound it makes. There are some they’re starting to link to sounds, but mostly they just like matching the shapes of the letters to the shapes on the cards.

Alphabet cards

Look what we can do!

On Tuesday we had another Tot Time with our friends. This week was “Safety Week” so C made adorable firetrucks out of diaper boxes for each of the kids to play in. We tried to get our “F is for Firetruck” pictures, but everything else was much more interesting.

Fire Trucks

Fire Trucks


Kyla Firetruck

Kyla in a Firetruck


Lucas NOT in a firetruck

Rocks are way more interesting.

We met at their house again, which is out in the country, so plenty of space for the kids to run and be free. It was so great to let them go and not worry about traffic or telling them no. They had such a great time!

Little Rascals

Little Rascals

Once inside, the fun continued. C really did a great job of planning activities to get the kids excited and involved. We read a portion of Clifford the Firehouse Dog, then the kids practiced “Stop, drop, and roll!”

Stop, drop, and roll

Stop, drop, and roll

Next she brought out a paper “road” for us to practice crossing the street safely. Unfortunately, they decided it was more fun to rip it apart.

Driving Kyla

Driving Kyla

Then we played with Stop and Go signs. They all loved this. To begin with, we sang a little song that goes to the tune of “Where is Thumbkin.” We held up the correct sign as we sang the words. It didn’t take long for all of the kids to “get” which one to hold up. They even started singing along!

Where is Green Light, Where is Green Light?
Here I am, Here I am.
When you see me, When you see me
Go, go, go. Go, go, go!

Where is Red Light, Where is Red Light?
Here I am, Here I am.
When you see me, When you see me
Stop, stop, stop. Stop, stop, stop.

Lucas singing

Lucas singing

After we sang the song we played “Stop/Go” where we would hold up the green sign and run around saying “Go-go-go-go-go-go-go-go-go-go-go-go!” then hold up the red sign and say “Stop!” The kids thought this was hilarious and we played several times that day and here at home. The whole day was a huge success and we all (including the adults!) had tons of fun.

The rest of the week was supposed to be focused and organized on my part. However, Tuesday night is when Lucas started his whole “I’m not gonna sleep” thing. So I pretty much went into survival mode. They continued to play with the letters and Magna Tiles (of course!), and we picked up lots of “A” books from the library. But those will be used this week instead.

I’m linking up to Tot School. To see more activities for little ones, visit Tot School.
Tot School

2 Comments

Filed under friends, fun, Parenting, socializing, toddlers, Tot School

2 responses to “Tot School- Safety Week

  1. I want to come over for tot time ๐Ÿ™‚ What a great day! I can’t believe how much you fit in. I love those firetrucks too!

  2. It was a great day for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

