My baby boy and his ears

I forgot to mention in the midst of all that’s been going on with my sister (she’s still baking those babies day by day, by the way. Thanks for all the prayers!) that Lucas had yet another ear infection. So he’ll be having another surgery to put in ear tubes, and this time take out his adenoids as well. It’s scheduled for July 28th. It would have been sooner, except that we can get it done cheapest at N’s hospital and the ENT doesn’t normally do surgeries there (though he does have privileges, thank goodness) and they had to contact the hospital and make arrangements. It worked out well, though, because N was able to get off for that day, even though he’d originally been scheduled to work.

N’s aunt (D) will watch Kyla for us this time (last time the sitter we had lined up got sick right before and we had to take Kyla to the hospital with us). We’re still trying to figure out the best plan for that. We have to be at the hospital at 6 AM, so we’re wondering if we should have Kyla spend the night with D or if D should come to our house bright (actually, still dark) and early. I know it would be easiest if Kyla just slept over at her house. That way we might not wake Kyla up when getting Lucas, and also D would get to sleep a little later (though Kyla will still get her up earlier than she would wake up on her own, I’m sure). But the problem is, I don’t know if either of the kids would be willing to sleep without the other one. They tend to be sort of dependent on one another and don’t like to wake up without the other one in the room. It would probably be good for them, but it still makes me nervous. D and I talked about trying it at nap time some day before then to see what happens. Guess I need to find a day to do that.

2 Comments

Filed under doctor's appts., family, illness, Parenting, planning, stress, toddlers

2 responses to “My baby boy and his ears

  1. Sorry your little guy needs to have surgery again 😦 Your kids remind me a of my niece and nephew, When my brother talked about adding on to the house so they could have their own rooms my niece (drama queen) started crying and said I couldn’t sleep without my Alex. Someday though I’m sure she’ll be ready for her own room πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I can’t imagine them wanting to share a room when they are teenagers. LOL Really Lucas is the one that feels the need to have Kyla close more than the other way around. With Kyla I think it’s more a matter of not wanting her brother to get anything she doesn’t have. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

