Potty Training- Fail

😦 Yeah, I’m a big fat failure. *sigh*

I couldn’t do it anymore and we’re back in diapers. But I’m still talking to them about where “pee-pee” and “poopy” go. And if they ask, I will take them to the potty. However, I think it’s backfiring on us. I think they’ve figured out that asking to “pee-pee” will give them a few more minutes before we make them go to bed. It’s inevitable that milliseconds after we say “Bed time” we hear a chorus of “Pee-pee! Pee-pee!” Yet, after sitting on the potty for 15 minutes, nothing will happen, despite them telling us they did pee and they need to wipe. Then we get a new diaper on and it’s wet within minutes. Or, in Kyla’s case today, they pee as they are getting a new diaper for us to put on them. *sigh*

Honestly, diapers are a heck of a lot easier than potties, in my opinion. I almost wish I hadn’t introduced the idea of the potty to them at all!

4 Comments

Filed under Parenting, potty training, toddlers

4 responses to “Potty Training- Fail

  1. I feel ya. We’re struggling with potty training now with our little one. We’ve made some progress, but we’ve still got a ways to go. It’s not easy!

  2. Chris

    We have twin 28 month girls. We too are struggling with potty training. We have started having them wear just underwear (now that it’s warmer) in the day with a top. Then when they wet them selves we keep them in the wet panties for 10 mins. Next we walk them to the potty and show them where they should have gone.
    Also, I have incorporated a treasure box into our daily routine. If they go potty they are allowed instantly into the treasure chest (normally they have to obtain at least 2 stickers which generally takes them all day).

    My sister was just here and also had a great concept. She has her little boy wearing spiderman underwear and when he wets himself she says something to the effect of “oh no you made spiderman cry…”

    Lot’s of fun though, and I hear the next phase is equally as fun, public restrooms!

  3. aww don’t feel like a failure. Your kids are still little, good for you for be brave enough to introduce the potty to them at this time. I tried potty training Drew about 18-20 months and it was awful. I bought potty books, treats, a seat. I took him every 30 minutes to try and he cried and threw books at me. So I stopped completely. Even when he started saying potty I said no potties are for big boys. I was too frustrated to even half try. Then at 22 months I started it up again and this time around he is getting it more. Sure we have our days where he wears diapers but I don’t consider those days failures. If you’re getting frustrated it’s not worth it. Just go back to diapers and try again in a couple weeks. I think you’ll be surprised how much they remember when you go back to it.

  4. Debbie

    I’m coming at you from having gone through this with three of my own kids (ages 16, 14, and 8 now), as well as being a preschool teacher to 2-year-olds for many years.

    Don’t stress over it. Kids will learn QUICKLY when THEY are ready. You can introduce it, as you did, and see what happens. If they aren’t ready, then you let it go and wait it out. The average age for potty training is 3 years old, slightly older for boys.

    I had one that trained himself (at 3 years 3 months) in FOUR days, all because he was ready and wanted to go to preschool, which he knew he couldn’t do if he wasn’t out of diapers. The other boy I started at 2 years old because I was his preschool teacher – he would cooperate at school the three days I worked, but never the rest of the time. He went to the 3 year old class at 3 years 1 month, and trained himself within a couple of weeks. Then there’s my daughter. She was fully trained before she turned 3, but I can’t remember exactly when.

    Preschool experience… once you start, you have to keep them in pullups, not diapers, if you are going back and forth between underwear and the other. Diapers will hold a ton of pee if you let them. Pullups won’t, and they allow them to feel the pee better. They also associate diapers with not having to do anything. Pullups look more like underwear, and they associate it with the potty more.

    The penis issue – BIG problem with little boys. You’ll have to train him to hold his penis down when he pees if he’s sitting. I’ve got one boy that sits backward on the toilet and leans into it while holding the back of the toilet to keep from falling in. Another one wanted to pee standing but was too small, so he was taught to climb on the toilet and almost stand on it, but with his knees, not his feet. Also, keep in mind that peeing and pooping are two very different body functions, and some kids will get the peeing down long before they do the pooping. Same as daytime/nighttime potty training.

Leave a Reply

