Potty Training- Day 4

The day isn’t over yet, but tonight is MNO, so I know I won’t be able to post anything later today. I figured I’d go ahead and report on how things have gone so far today.

One word. EXHAUSTED! That’s what I am. It takes entirely too much energy to potty train. Both physically and mentally, I am completely drained. Around 9 o’clock, after fighting them to get on the potty (no problems keeping them there, but convincing them to get in there is becoming a battle) and having Kyla pee on the floor without even saying anything to me, I gave up. I decided if they didn’t want to do it, that was fine. We’d just go back to diapers and put everything on hold for a few months. Then, around 9:20 or so, Lucas looked up at me and said “Pee-pee?” I checked and he hadn’t gone yet, so we rushed to the bathroom and sure enough, he peed! 😀 About 20 minutes later it happened again! Kyla didn’t wan to be left out and also sat on the potty, but nothing happened. That is, until she got OFF the potty. Not even 15 minutes later, Kyla peed on the floor again, not even saying anything to me as she did it. So back into diapers for Kyla.

Once I had her back in a diaper, she pouted for quite a while, wrapping herself in a blanket and snuggling with me. I don’t know if she was pouting because she didn’t want the diaper, because she didn’t want to disappoint me, or if she just didn’t like all the stress. But regardless of the reason, it broke my heart. I don’t like stressing my kids out. 😦

But Lucas was doing well. He actually peed in the potty 4 times before lunch! Then, we had friends coming over to do lunch. He was distracted by the fun of new people and didn’t notice he’d started to pee. He did stop when I scooped him up to take him to the potty and he really hadn’t gone that much at that point. He finished in the potty, but I decided to put a diaper on him while we left the house anyway. I didn’t trust myself to pay close enough attention. Sure enough, both kids used their diapers while we were out. I changed them right before we left, and when we got home they both asked to go potty (I’m pretty sure it was just a stall tactic to keep from being put to bed for their nap). Once again, Lucas peed, Kyla did not. I put diapers on them again so I could put them to bed. Almost immediately after, Kyla said “pee-pee” and went in her diaper. *sigh* Then, after trying and trying to get them to go to sleep, she pooped in her diaper.

There’s no telling how things will go this afternoon. Since I’ve got MNO this evening and my FIL will be coming over to watch them until N gets home, I’ve decided to do diapers again for awhile. I’ll still take them to the potty if they say something, but at least this way I don’t have to clean up so many messes. But this afternoon looks like it will be warm enough, so I’m going to take them outside for some naked time. They seemed to enjoy that yesterday.

I do have hope that Lucas is starting to “get it” but I’m not wanting to fight it for now. Even though the things I’ve read have been telling me I have to make them sit on the potty every 20 minutes, I just can’t do it anymore. It’s stressing us all out, and that’s not good.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, growth and development, Parenting, potty training, toddlers

Leave a Reply

