Potty Training- Day 2

I wanted to post this yesterday, but just didn’t have the energy. And it might not get posted until later today, since I can already hear the kids starting to wake up. *sigh* Looks like Day 3 will be starting before I get to document Day 2!

—– Later in the day——-

I’m going to attempt to write this post with the mentality I had when I went to bed last night, and NOT the mindset I’m in at the moment (it’s now 1:00 PM on Day 3).

With N home, I wasn’t sure how he would handle the new situation. I’ve come to realize something about myself. I frequently make parenting choices at the spur of the moment and don’t talk it over with him beforehand. If this bothers him, he hasn’t said anything, but I really feel that I need to change this about myself and start working as a team member rather than the dictator. That being said, he took it in stride. Though, admittedly, he did get frustrated frequently throughout the day (as did I) and was in a bit of a funk the afternoon and evening. Even in the funk, he helped, but I did the majority of the “pee-pee watch” and taking them to the potty while N did mostly clean up.

The accidents were numerous, and the successes were few (try one each). We did a LOT of cleaning up, and had to wash underwear during nap time so Lucas would have some to wear when he woke up. We had few melt downs about wearing underwear (they wanted to be naked, which we probably should have just done), and Lucas really didn’t like it when he pooped in his underwear. Getting them into diapers for the night was another battle.

Even though the day was extremely tough, N and I were happy to note a small success. By the end of the day, both kids were saying “pee-pee” to us AS they peed. Yes, it was a bit late for the announcement, but at least they are beginning to recognize that “pee-pee” comes from them and they don’t like it in their underwear. Now if we could just get them to tell us before they start going… It seemed that most of the time the accidents would happen shortly after taking them off the potty (which they’d sat on for a good 10 minutes or more).

By the end of the day, we were both exhausted. Yet, for some reason we were up later than usual. Perhaps because we needed more “wind down” time after the kids were in bed. I think N was glad that he had to work today.

I will wait until Day 3 is over to report any successes or failures. I don’t want to count any chickens before they are hatched…

2 Comments

Filed under growth and development, husband, Parenting, potty training, stress, toddlers

2 responses to “Potty Training- Day 2

  1. I had a bad day too. I was trying to get out the door for a dr’s appt. My son peed on the potty, then 2 minutes later peed in the kitchen. I changed pants, underwear and socks. We went to the garage and I had to fix his car seat….he peed again. I changed him again. Then he peed in the car. Ugh. I put him in diapers until after nap. I just couldn’t do it anymore. Today has been better.

    • You don’t know how much better that makes me feel, Alyssa! I keep feeling like I’m doing something wrong and not picking up on some signal I should be seeing. Patience is a virtue, right? Well, I guess I’m not as virtuous as I need to be!

Leave a Reply

