Heathens

The majority of the time I adore my children and love being around them. But right around nap time they turn into little heathens and I feel like my devil horns poke out as I find myself getting angrier and angrier.

I don’t understand it. They are tired. I know they are tired. They even agree that it’s time for a nap. But the moment I close the door, they pop out of their beds and begin their quest to destroy their room. Or emptying the drawers. Or looking out the window. Or beat up on their sibling. Or (just added recently) banging on the door. It doesn’t seem to matter how many times I go in and remind them it’s nap time, or how long I leave them to their own devices and let them come to the conclusion that sleep is the activity most appealing. I cannot seem to find the magic answer. Some days leaving them alone is all they need. Others, a reminder to stay in bed. Still others (like today), nothing seems to work.

What doesn’t make sense to me is how easily they went down for naps when we were at my mother’s house. I don’t know if it was a result of being in a strange place, being in the same bed, having a slightly darker room, or wearing them out more (not that we did anything different than when we’re home). I want to recreate whatever it is that made them nap so beautifully. Night time isn’t (usually) a problem. They stay in their beds until they wake up in the morning. Frequently, Lucas will get into Kyla’s bed if she’s still asleep and fall back to sleep himself.

I’ve considered getting rid of the toddler beds and putting a larger mattress in their room and letting them share. Maybe that’s the solution? I’ve also considered emptying their room of everything except a mattress, putting foil in their window, and making them run around the back yard to wear them out every day. But I have a feeling none of that will work. I KNOW they need a nap. I just don’t know how to “make” them take one. *sigh*

Leave a comment

Filed under Parenting, sleep, toddlers

Leave a Reply

