Houdini Monkey Returns

I don’t remember if I ever referred to Lucas as Houdini Monkey in this blog before or not (and really don’t feel like going back to look right now), but back when he first became mobile and climbed out of every barrier we could come up with, that was my nickname for him. Well, he’s back. *sigh*

For the past two weeks he’s been climbing out of his crib like it’s nothing. We had a terrible time getting him to take a nap because he’d immediately climb out of the crib and come banging on the door. And when their cribs were right next to each other, he’d climb into Kyla’s crib, keeping her awake. We kept him out of her crib by putting a couple of feet between them, but we could not figure out how to keep him in his own bed. Some people suggested a crib tent, but knowing my Houdini Monkey, he’d have that figured out within a week…

So Tuesday I decided it was time to take the side rail off his crib and turn it into a toddler bed. Of course, Kyla decided she needed hers taken off too, even though we’ve had no problems with her escaping since we dropped the mattress to its lowest setting.

Tuesday night was tiring for me. Lucas slept through the night without issue, but Kyla fell out of the bed around 10:30, just as I was about to get ready for bed. I don’t think she fully woke up until I went in to put her back on the bed. Then she wouldn’t let me leave. I ended up laying on the floor in their room until 1:30 (I did leave twice to go to the bathroom and get ready for bed, but she screamed the whole time I was gone). I could not stand it anymore, so I left and she immediately popped out of bed and followed me to the door. She cried for another 10 minutes, eventually falling asleep on the floor, which is where she stayed the rest of the night.

At nap time they both stayed in their beds without a problem, but woke up after only an hour of sleep and wouldn’t go back to bed after that.

Tonight I put them to bed a bit early (because of the short nap) and they didn’t fuss at all. Unfortunately, around 7:45 Lucas fell out of bed. *sigh* I went in to comfort him and Kyla got out of bed and wrapped her arms around me and wouldn’t let go. Lucas took quite awhile to calm down, but when he finally did I told them “It’s time to go to bed now.” Amazingly, he crawled into bed (while crying), but got back out when I put Kyla in her bed. I put him back down, told him it was time to sleep, and left the room. He cried for about 15 minutes before he finally went back to sleep. He did not get out of bed, though!

I’m just praying neither of them falls out of bed again. I tried to see if I could locate a bed rail to help keep them in their beds, but apparently they don’t make one that goes on the beds we have. :p

I cannot believe my kids are in toddler beds. It just doesn’t seem right. They’re too little! Most people I talk to kept their kids in cribs as long as possible, generally over 2 years old. So why did I get so “lucky” as to have babies that are too eager to grow up?! They better slow down or Mama may get ugly!

Leave a comment

Filed under growth and development, Parenting, sleep, toddlers

Leave a Reply

