The many moods of toddlers

Wow. We sure are having some interesting personality changes in this house! And by “interesting” I mean “they can leave any time now.”

For about 4 days I was calling Kyla “Evil Kyla.” She was getting over being sick and refusing to eat what we gave her, screeching at the top of her lungs, wanting to be held constantly, and just was not her usual self at all. Kyla is definitely a Drama Queen and we are going to have quite a time with her through the years. I foresee many gray hairs in our future and they will mostly be blamed on her. 😉 She’s doing better now, though she’s still trying to use the screeching to get what she wants. Hopefully she’ll figure out soon that it is the fastest way to annoy Mom and Dad, not the fastest way to get her way. I made the “mistake” of rearranging their room in the hopes of getting her crib out of the sunlight during nap times. She does not do change well. For two days she would not sleep longer than 45 minutes at a time (which meant we didn’t either). Others told me I should change the room back, but N and I decided she would just have to adjust. For the most part I think she has.

Lucas is also getting his tantrum on more and more frequently. At the aquarium yesterday I was having trouble keeping them both together, so I decided it was time to go back into the stroller. He did what every toddler instinctively knows to do: he went boneless (to borrow a phrase from Mo Willams). And this morning he started pulling Kyla’s hair because he wanted something she had. I snatched him up and took him to his room. Didn’t seem to phase him, though. *sigh*

Of course, when they are throwing their fits it can be difficult to remember the cute things they do. But those are so much more important! Lucas and I have a new “thing” we do. I ask him for a kiss (or he comes up to me with his lips puckered) and he says “no.” Then I kiss him all over his face and he just laughs and laughs! 🙂 I love it! And Kyla is such a ham. She’ll look at you with the most adorable, innocent look on her face. Oh! And she tries to make toys “talk” like Daddy and Mommy do. It’s so cute!

N and I are so very in love with our children. We may get frustrated with them from time to time, but we are always reminded of how very lucky we are. I couldn’t ask for a better family!

1 Comment

Filed under family, fun, growth and development, husband, Parenting, toddlers

One response to “The many moods of toddlers

  1. Lori Shugart

    Glad all is going well! How are you feeling? Are you feeling any better?Hope you are doing better!

Leave a Reply

