Working hard

I’ve made a decision about myself. I want to be a better example to my children than my parents were to me when it comes to keeping the house clean. I started taking baby steps towards getting our house in order. I hope to clean at least one thing every day (and continue to keep them clean) until the house is no longer in “CHAOS” (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome- coined by FlyLady). I’ve told N what I am doing and that if I make it a full month I am going to reward myself with a pedicure.

The first day, as per FlyLady.net’s instructions, I shined my sink. And when N got home he was very impressed with how clean it was. Then, when I cleaned the hall bathroom today he asked if we were moving out. LOL So far (and we’re not very far into this) he’s been helping out by putting his dishes in the dishwasher and not the sink. I hope we can both keep it up. Tomorrow my plan is to clear at least one counter and scrub the stove.

I’ve also been cranking out my sewing. I’ve finished 27 bibs (except the snaps) and gotten a good start on the burp cloths (completely cut and half are partially sewn). This week I hope to finish the burp cloths and the other 9 bibs (have to get more material for the backs) as well as making all of the towels and cutting squares for the textured blankets. I’ve got only 2.5 weeks until Merry Multiples and I want to have at least examples of everything I make so that I can take orders if need be. I also plan to make tote bags. They are quick and easy to make. I just hope that people like what I have and will buy them! Orders for more would be nice too. I really hope this will be worth all the time and energy I’m devoting to it. *sigh* My back and shoulder are killing me!

Leave a comment

Filed under House, husband, Parenting, planning, sewing

Leave a Reply

