Lucas’s Surgery

For those of you who don’t know, Lucas will be having surgery to place tubes in his ears. It will be tomorrow morning at 7:30 AM (we have to be at the hospital at 6:00 AM). I was not able to find a babysitter for Kyla, so she will be coming with us to the hospital. Hopefully they will let her come back with us because I know that N and I would both like to be there with him before and after the surgery. Also, I think it would help Lucas to see Kyla too. After all, they have only been apart a handful of times.

To be honest, I’m starting to freak out just a little. I know everything is going to be fine and I’m not worried about the surgery itself. I’m just worried about my little boy being scared. I know they make sure the parents are with them as they fall asleep and when they wake up to limit that fear, but how do I explain to a 14 month old what’s going on? How do I make him understand that the fuzzy feeling is okay? How do I explain why he has to be poked and prodded by doctors and nurses? And how do I explain why he has to do it, but his sister doesn’t? 😦

So for now, please pray for God to guide the doctor’s hands, as well as for Him to guide N and me on how to ease Lucas’s fears, to calm Kyla, and to ease our own anxiety.

I’ll be sure to update when I get a chance. I don’t know what time we’ll be released from the hospital, but I know the procedure itself is very quick and we shouldn’t be kept long after he wakes up. And there’s no telling how clingy he will be when we get home, so if it’s late in the day before I get on the computer I apologize in advance. I promise I won’t leave you hanging indefinitely.

1 Comment

Filed under Communication, doctor's appts., emotions, Faith, family, Parenting, stress, toddlers

One response to “Lucas’s Surgery

  1. Jennifer

    I hope everything went well today and Lucas is feeling better.

Leave a Reply

