Long Overdue Update

It’s been way too long since I last updated, and I apologize. All I have to say is, caring for active and mobile twins is exhausting! Plus, I’ve taken on some new responsibilities the last couple of weeks that have been eating up any “free” time I have (I’ll explain below).

First of all, the babies are, well, getting close to not being babies anymore, I guess. šŸ˜¦ In 9 days they will be one year old. I don’t understand how this could possibly be true. I swear it was just yesterday that we brought them home! Yet, when I look at them and all they can now do, I realize that they really have done a lot of growing and developing. I guess maybe they could be one. But I don’t want them to be!

Lucas’s current nickname (from me) is Houdini Monkey. You see, he’s quite the climber and escape artist. He can climb on things you’d think there was no way he could climb! And not only that but he will climb from one piece of furniture to another. I actually caught footage of him climbing from a chair, to a box, to the couch, and almost to freedom (we have a coffee table on its side against the couch to block them from going into the kitchen/dining area). Much to his chagrin, I stopped him. But he has escaped a time or two when I wasn’t looking. He also has taken his first unassisted steps! He started with just one (or really half of one), which we got on video. Then on Friday he managed 4 steps in a row. And yesterday he did 12 steps! šŸ˜€ Unfortunately, today he seems to have forgotten and has not made it more than 2 steps. LOL N was here to witness the one step stage. He was at work on Friday, but I kept the kids up late so that he could see it when he got home. And he was here for the long series of steps, which made us both happy. Now if Kyla would just join in. šŸ˜‰

Kyla isn’t interested in climbing or walking. But she is obsessed with shoes, phones, and kisses. Lord help me, I’m afraid she may turn into a girly girl no matter how hard I try to sway her the other direction! Her kisses now are super cute. She makes a fishy face and gives a big smack. šŸ™‚ She’ll even kiss N and me on the lips, if she’s in the mood. It’s so cute!

Today my aunt and uncle got a real taste of what life is like with twins. They’re always going in opposite directions, and neither in the direction you want! My uncle was taking pics of the twins for me. He’s been thinking of taking up photography professionally (he’s been taking classes forever and is really good) and offered (well, my aunt offered, really) to take their one year pics for me. We went to a park and tried to get some good ones. I don’t know yet if we did, but I hope so! I know we’ve got lots of cute ones of them individually, but it was impossible to keep them close together (and looking the same direction) long enough to get much. There’s one shot in particular that I really hope was captured on film because it would be SO cute to put in a frame! Keep your fingers crossed. šŸ™‚ He took over 1,000 pics, so surely we got at least one good one, right? šŸ˜‰

This coming weekend will be my nephew’s third birthday (that’s hard to believe too!). The twins and I will be going down to Houston to attend his party while N stays home to work. We’ll come back on Monday so that the four of us can celebrate the babies actual birthday on Tuesday as a family, then their party (had to limit it to family because of the sheer numbers in that group alone) will be the following Saturday (June 12). I just hope we can get the house clean by then!

As for the other commitments I’ve made, well I’m still assistant teaching online and the last two weeks have been a Maymester, in which a whole semester’s worth of work is crammed into 2.5 weeks. It’s taking up a considerable amount of time, let me tell you. Fortunately, that will be over on Thursday of this week. My other commitment has been to my Mothers of Multiples group. I am now the newsletter editor and I’ve been working on putting together my first issue. It’s been slow going because I’ve had to learn the software (N suggested InDesign) and come up with a new layout (didn’t like the old one and also didn’t have the program it was done in anyway). I think it’s looking pretty good. I just hope everyone else likes it.

So that’s what’s been going on here. Just a whole lot of busy and enjoying every last minute of my babies’ first year. I think it’s been the fastest year of my life!

2 Comments

Filed under babies, family, fun, growth and development, husband, M.O.M., Parenting, work

2 responses to “Long Overdue Update

  1. Gabrielle

    WOW I have been reading your blog for over a year. Happy Birthday to the twins.

  2. Lyzz Buda

    Hard to believe they are one! I’ve been reading your blog for a while. I have boy/girl twins as well, 13 months. Hard to watch them turn one but be proud of all they (and you!) have accomplished. Its hard work but worth it. Love hearing about your cuties!

Leave a Reply

