New addition to the family!

I haven’t posted anything in awhile because things have been super busy around here. First was my trip to San Antonio for my library conference. I came back and a week later had my MoM convention. And THIS week is what I really want to type about…

Monday around noon I got a call from MIL that SIL was heading to the hospital because she hadn’t felt her baby move in 2 hours. We weren’t terribly worried, as she was almost 39 weeks along and knew the baby would slow in his movements. However, it turned out that she was so right to go in! She ended up having a c-section because her amniotic fluid was low and there was a possibility that his umbilical cord was wrapped around his neck. The c-section didn’t happen until after 9, her time (10 our time), so it was a LONG day of waiting for news. We finally got a call from MIL (who’d gotten a call from the baby’s father, D) to tell us that our nephew, B, was born and weighed only 3 lbs. 11 oz. We thought surely that was a miscommunication and that was in kg, not lbs. But no, he really was that small. He went straight to NICU and SIL only got a brief glimpse of him as they wheeled her gurney past his isolette. 😦 The next day she was not able to see him until she’d eaten solid foods and kept them down, so she did not see him until that evening. But we were told that they were testing him for spina bifida.

N was super worried and had me book him a flight to go out there that night. He stayed the two days he was not scheduled to work, then came back. He wanted to be there to help interpret some of the medical jargon and ask questions. While he was there we were able to get a little more info. The tests came back and B does NOT have spina bifida. Yea! πŸ™‚ Right now the going theory is that he as Russel-Silver Syndrome (RSS), which is a much less scary diagnosis. SIL talked to the geneticist yesterday and was told that he should be completely normal, just small. The biggest battle with RSS is getting enough calories into them. But so far, B is eating like a champ! He’s already gaining weight and we found out today that he may be able to go home Tuesday or Wednesday of next week! πŸ˜€

For those first few days it was like the world fell out from under all of us. All I could think about, pray about, was little baby B and SIL. It all came as such a shock. We’d had no indication prior to the day of delivery that anything was wrong. We kept questioning how in the world the docs could have missed this. In this day in age, with medical technology and frequent ultrasounds, how could they not have known how tiny he was? It dawned on me that this was probably what my family went through exactly 33.5 years earlier (B was born on my half birthday) when I was born and they found out I had complex CHD. The not knowing is the worst. Knowing something is not right, but not having answers as to what it is. They didn’t diagnose my heart defects until I was 3 days old. What a horribly difficult 3 days (and then some) that must have been! I think I have a new appreciation for what my mother went through. And I still get teary thinking of SIL not getting to hold her baby in the first 24 hours of his life. 😦

I’m sad for SIL that she didn’t have the “perfect end” to the perfect pregnancy (she really loved being pregnant, from what I understand). But I’m relieved that she listened to her motherly instincts and got in when she did. I firmly believe that God chooses special people to be the parents of special children. I’m confident that He chose well, as usual. I cannot wait to meet our “Little Man,” as I’ve been calling him. I told MIL the other day that he may be little, but he already has a big piece of my heart! πŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under babies, emotions, Faith, family, husband

One response to “New addition to the family!

  1. Cathy Manor

    Itsn’t it amazing how we are reminded of the power of prayer and faith each day. We always want to know “WHY” and then we soon learn that in some way there is a message for us. Blessings to you and the new one and that he will continue to grow and flourish. Just think your first “Mother’s Day with babies is coming up. Love, kiss, hug and snuggle those precious children.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

