Baths

First of all, I know everyone is wondering if the sickness has left the building. For the most part we’re all doing much better. The babies are still a bit more clingy and whiny than usual, but otherwise they act like they are doing fine. N and I still have a little left over coughing, but we’re feeling better as well. If I could just get my back feeling better I’d be happy.

Now on to the topic at hand…

I have been giving the twins their baths every other day in the morning. Bathing them is a very exhausting endeavor for me, so I do it in the morning because that’s when I have the most energy. Recently I was able to start using the big bathtub and washing them both at the same time and it helps some to be able to do them both at once. Bathing every other day is for two reasons. One, L has eczema and I don’t want to dry out his skin too much, and two, I can use my energy in other ways on the days I don’t wash them.

However, lately they’ve become much dirtier by the end of each day than they had before. Between the dog hair that accumulates in various nooks and crannies, and the food they rub in their hair or dribble down their chin (which makes them sticky and more hair accumulates), they’re downright filthy. I do wipe them down with a baby wipe after each meal and as I change their last diaper of the day and put on their PJs, but it’s not a very thorough job.

I’m starting to wonder if I need to start washing them every day and switch to nights so that there isn’t as much filth on their sheets. I know a lot of people make it part of their nighttime routine, but it hasn’t been for us. I guess I should just try it and see if it works. If it’s too hard for me to do their baths at night, I can always switch back. I’ll have to let you know how it goes.

3 Comments

Filed under babies, bath, growth and development, Parenting

3 responses to “Baths

  1. Jennifer

    My oldest has really bad excema she has since she was tiny and she’s 13 now. I loved Cetaphil. (You can buy it at Walgreens, or Walmart.) You don’t have to wash it off. Her skin was and is so bad that daily bathing made it awful. So I would wash her down with with a warm washrag of Cetaphil before I put her PJ’s on. She was clean and it’s not to time consuming and doesn’t dry her skin out. Now that she’s older goat milk soap is awesome. Just a few ideas to throw out there.

    I’m so glad to hear your all on the mend.

  2. jadine

    Hiya 🙂 I used to bathe my boys every night. It’s really hard to bend over the tub (I sat on a low stool), especially when you’re tired from your day, but they really liked their baths and I really like bathy-smelling kids. I’d actually clean ’em first and then let them play for a long time. This let me sit by the tub and recover from the cleaning-rodeo, and they got to play. You know what? Richard NEVER offered to give them a bath, saying that it hurt his back. Duh! It hurt MY back! (Why did I let him get away with that??) Anyhoo, I hope you find a happy medium with yours. Two the same age must be really tough.

    • heartjourney

      Jadine! ❤ Yes, it does hurt my back. And like Richard, Nathan has never bathed them (except one time when I was out of town :P). I try to wash them as quickly as I can and then let them play. The most exhausting part actually comes when they are done and I have to wrestle them both into diapers and clothes! Why must they be such wiggle worms?! LOL

Leave a Reply

