Songs

I got to thinking the other day that I should write down the songs that I sing to the twins every day. That way I can look back and remember when they would let me do that. 😉 I have one song that is specific to each child, then three others that I sing to them both. The individual songs I recorded for LD to play to the babies when she was still carrying them. The other three just sort of happened and I’ve been singing them since they were little bitty. I thought it was interesting the other day when DH’s aunt was over helping out and Lucas wouldn’t settle down in her arms. I started singing and he stopped squirming and eventually fell asleep.

Individual Songs:

Lucas-
“You are my sonshine,
My only sonshine.
You make me happy
My Lucas Grey.
You’ll never know dear
How much I love you.
Please don’t take
My sonshine away.”

Kyla- (tune of Yellow Rose of Texas)
“There’s a Kyla Rose of Texas
That I’m so proud to see.
No other mother knows her
No mother, only me.
I cried so when I met her
It like to break my heart.
Now that I finally know her
We never more will part.

She’s the sweetest little rosebud
This mother ever knew.
She sparkles like a diamond
And glistens like the dew.
You can talk about your Clementine
And sing of Rosalee,
But my Kyla Rose of Texas
Is the only girl for me.”

Both- (I think I first heard this song on the Nickelodeon show “Pinwheel” when I was a kid)
“Skitamarinky-dinky-dink
Skitamarinky-doo
I love you.
I love you in the morning
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening
And underneath the moon.
Skitamarinky-dinky-dink
Skitamarinky-doo
I love you.”

And- (segment taken from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’s “You Two”)
“Someone to care for
To be there for
I have you two.
Someone to do for
Muddle through for
I have you two.
Could be we three
Get along so famously
‘Cause you two have me
And I have you two, too.”

“Hush little baby don’t say a word” (the original lyrics. I don’t feel like typing the whole thing out.)

1 Comment

Filed under babies, Parenting

One response to “Songs

  1. Lori Shugart

    I think that is so neat for you to do that and I love how you have changed the songs to fit your babies. I bet they love for you to sing to them.You are a great mom!

Leave a Reply

