Brave new world

Today I braved grocery shopping with the twins. I decided to go to Tom Thumb because they have the smaller carts, which I figured would be easier to pull behind me while pushing the stroller than the big carts. Unfortunately, the little carts are apparently gone! 😦 I didn’t see any at all and have no idea why they would get rid of them. I attempted to pull the big cart, but it just wasn’t happening. So instead I hooked one of the hand baskets to the handy-dandy hooks on the stroller handle, even though I knew I would need more space than the tiny basket would hold. When I filled it to capacity, I approached a checker and asked if he could hold onto my full basket while I took another basket to finish my shopping. He agreed and I filled the second basket as well, carrying the milk (the final item on my list) in my hand to the checkout line. The sacker asked the usual “Would you like help out to your car?” and I responded with an enthusiastic “Yes, please!” 🙂 He had to go get a cart to carry the bags, since I didn’t have one, and when he came back and started loading them up I said I would go ahead to the car and he could catch up. He wasn’t far behind me, and by the time I reached my car he was right beside me. I had him load the groceries in the passenger seat while I loaded the kids in their seats and the stroller in the trunk. He finished way before me (probably because he didn’t have to buckle the groceries into the seat!), and left before I had a chance to try to give him a tip. I was very grateful for the help!

Tuesday I will be braving yet another frightening task. A four hour drive to visit my mom! By myself! 😮 Here’s hoping I’m as successful in that venture. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under babies, family, Parenting, progress

2 responses to “Brave new world

  1. Lori Shugart

    Well, I am impressed! Maybe Melody Shevlin needs to read this so she can get some hints for times ahead of her. Girl, I know how hard it is but you seem to doing well! Good luck with the trip ahead and hope it goes well! How is Nathan feeling? Hope he is doing ok!

  2. Cathy Manor

    I think you were very creative with your grocery shopping! Very impressive!
    Yes, we need an update on Nathan. I’m thinking your trip might be a little longer than usual. I hope you have lots of soothing CD’s to help keep your little travelers calm. I’m sure you are trying to drive during naptime! Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

