Surgery done

Okay, so yes, he had the surgery yesterday. We left for the hospital around 12:30 and he was taken back to the OR by 3:30. They called to say that the surgeon had him in place and “under the microscope” at 4:45 and at 5:15 the surgeon came out to tell me everything went well. The disc fragment was “large” according to him. At 5:45 they let me come into recovery to see him and at 6:00 they took him to his room. He was in quite a bit of pain, but was also getting nauseous from the pain meds so it was a bit of a balancing act. When I left the hospital at 8:30 he was doing better. Hopefully he was able to find a good position to sleep in, as getting comfortable was a challenge. He should get to come home today, though probably not until late afternoon or evening.

My SIL survived watching the twins and it at least felt good that her assessment of Lucas’s neediness matches my own. I was beginning to wonder if it was me! Fortunately, Kyla is such a good baby and able to entertain herself most of the time. Oh! Speaking of, Kyla has figured out how to roll from her back to her front! She can now turn 360 degrees and is rolling all over the place! I’m sure it won’t be long before she’s crawling. 😮 Then there’s Lucas who’s not even interested in trying to turn over. I don’t think I could have two more opposite kids! LOL

I had a very rough night last night. One or the other baby woke me every hour. 😦 I finally gave up at 5:00 and have been up ever since. They napped a lot for my SIL. Wonder if they got too much sleep and that’s the problem or if they’re punishing me for being gone yesterday. It’s going to be a long, tiring day for Mama, that’s for sure!

2 Comments

Filed under babies, doctor's appts., family, husband, Parenting

2 responses to “Surgery done

  1. Lori Shugart

    Wow! Rolling all over the place! That Kyla! I am glad she is so able to entertain herself. Lucas is just more needy. But I am so glad that Nathan’s surgery went ok but I know he will be in some pain. Tell him seriously that the first two days were the worse (at least for me) but then it got better each day. Keep us posted and let us know what we can do! We are thinking about you!

  2. jadine

    You have had such a whirl-wind year! I’m sorry Nathan’s in pain, but am really glad he has the surgery “behind” him. Hang in there with them babies!

Leave a Reply

