Two Months!

Wow. Another month has gone by already?? How did that happen? Kyla and Lucas continue to amaze us. Thursday N says it was like someone flipped a switch on Kyla, as she suddenly started babbling and cooing at us! So cute! And the last few days they’ve really become more attentive and interested in us talking to them. N sat and told them a story the other morning and he says Kyla would smile and coo at him the whole time. Lucas is also making more noise that isn’t crying. Sometimes it’s hard to tell if they are happy or upset noises, but we’re getting there!

I think they’re also becoming more aware of each other. This morning, while taking a nap (on me), they were holding hands! I so wished I had a camera nearby. Lucas doesn’t like to wake up in his crib alone, but I’m not sure if he knows Kyla’s not there or if he’d cry for me anyway (probably the latter). Once in awhile one will grab onto the clothes of the other (if they’re close enough) but they still don’t look at each other much. I guess they figure they saw enough of each other in the womb. LOL

We have their 2 month checkup on Tuesday. I’m anxious to find out how much they weigh. I think Lucas has to be close to 14 lbs already, but I’m pretty sure Kyla’s only 10 or 11. He’s gaining fast! I think we’re going to have a linebacker on our hands. It’s amazing how different their growth has been, given the fact that Kyla tends to eat the same amounts that Lucas does.

The biggest challenge these days is with daytime sleeping. It seems the only way I can get them to both sleep at the same time is if they are on me. Which makes it very difficult to get just about anything done (FYI: they are sleeping on me as I type). Yesterday I had so much to do, so I just had to let them exercise their lungs. And gone are the days when we could just leave them in the stroller to sleep while we eat. Oh, no. One or the other is determined to make the person holding him/her eat a cold meal. Sadly, that person tends to be N. I have no idea why. I think we’ll be staying in for dinner more than we’d like. We really don’t go out by ourselves, but when friends/family get together we tend to eat a meal out. Sadly, we had to skip J’s (N’s brother) birthday meal because the twins had been over stimulated 3 days in a row already. 😦 We were very sad to miss it, but knew the babies would have made the experience less enjoyable anyway.

Night time sleep is going better, though. I can usually count on feeding them around 1:30-2:00 and again around 4:30-5:00. It’s gotten easier to get Lucas back to bed after a night feeding than it had been (or at least, most of the time), so I generally get 2-3 hour chunks of sleep at a time. Even so, I have some days when I’m totally exhausted anyway. I’m looking forward to them sleeping through the night. But I’m willing to wait for it until they are ready.

I try to give them some tummy time each day and Kyla has gotten SO good at holding her head up. Lucas is okay, but his head is so much bigger, it’s no wonder he’s a little wobbly. LOL πŸ˜‰ I’ve attached pictures from today. Lucas wasn’t too pleased to be put down, so forgive the sour expression in the first picture. πŸ˜‰

Grumpy Lucas

Lucas (upset)


STRONG Kyla!

STRONG Kyla!

Leave a comment

Filed under babies, husband, Parenting

Leave a Reply

