Fabulous news!

Where do I begin… First of all, I’m excited to report that LD and family are on their way to the airport as I type. They will be at Disney World until Sunday. I’m so excited for them and cannot wait to hear all about their trip! Last night at dinner I gave the whole family two assignments:

  1. When they return they must each tell me their favorite thing and I want details (“I liked the rides” will not do. 😉 ).
  2. They must have the best time of their lives!!!!!

I guess you just can’t take the teacher out of me… 😉

Speaking of… That leads me to my next bit of news. If you’ve been reading along from the beginning (or really just the last 8 months) you will know some of this. But I know some just started reading, so I’ll give a little background.

As soon as we knew we were planning to get pregnant N and I discussed my work situation. I wanted very much to stay home for at least the first two years, but he was worried about $$. So we came to a compromise and decided I’d go to part time and work the days he doesn’t (he only works 3 days a week, 12 hour shifts). It seemed perfect until my district did away with all part time positions. 😦 So we decided I would stay home and take substitute jobs on the days he is home, even though it wouldn’t be as much money….

Then in April I ran into a former professor of mine and we talked about the possibility of me being a TA for one of her online classes. But when I emailed her she said she only had an on campus position available and to try back in June. I emailed her in June and never heard back. So I applied to become a sub in two local school districts.

Well, yesterday I got a phone call from a number I didn’t recognize… It was that professor! She asked if I’d gotten her email in response to mine (I didn’t). I had not responded, so she looked me up in the alumni files and found my number. She needs an online TA for the Fall semester and offered the job to me!! So now I’ll be able to work from home at hours that are convenient for me and N!

I know it won’t be easy, but I’m so excited to have a more regular paycheck and not have to sub every day N is not. I may still do some subbing, depending on how things go, but now it’s not as imperative if I don’t. 😀

Speaking of N and his job (okay, so that’s a loose connection, but I had to segue somehow!)… When N works the next day, I take care of the babies every time they wake up in the night. It’s not a great idea for him to be exhausted while taking care of patients. When he will be home, he takes over for me around 4 am and lets me sleep in. For some reason the last couple of weeks he’s had to go in to work a lot more than usual (mandatory staff meetings), so he wasn’t able to do that for me much. Plus, I had them all day by myself. Needless to say, I was beyond exhausted. Well, he finally had a couple of days off in a row and without my even saying anything (I don’t think I had to. My mood and FaceBook statuses said it all!) he offered to take the baby monitor into the guest room and he would take care of the kids the whole night, allowing me the first full night’s sleep I’ve had since February! I slept for 7 whole hours! It was FABULOUS!!!!! And it really rejuvenated me. When I talked to Mom on the phone yesterday (before I’d even gotten the job phone call) she said it was the first time in a long time I’d sounded chipper. LOL It’s amazing what a little sleep can do! AND… N offered to do it again this week, despite his having seen “every hour of the night” because the twins tag teamed him all night long (he hasn’t figured out a comfortable way to feed them at the same time, which is the only thing that finally saved me from having those kind of nights). I have such a wonderful husband! ❤

And now for the biggest news of all… Kyla rolled over!!!!!! Okay, I know it was an accident and it probably won't happen again for some time, but it makes me so proud anyway. After all, the fact that it happened at all indicates that her neck muscles are strong because she was able to pick up her head high enough to lose her balance and roll over. It happened Sunday while Dad and his wife were here, so I have witnesses. 😉

So if you see me in the next few days, you'll probably see a big ol' smile on my face. Enjoy it while it lasts! LOL

2 Comments

Filed under babies, family, friends, husband, money, Parenting, sleep

2 responses to “Fabulous news!

  1. Jennifer

    I’m so happy to hear that the job situation has worked out. I know that has to take a lot of stress off of both of you. Way to go Kyla for rolling over the first years are always filled with excitement.

  2. Cathy Manor

    Way to go! All good news AND you are somewhat rested!!!!!

Leave a Reply

