Blessed quiet

I hope I’m not jinxing it, but WOW! Mom had a swing sent to us and it arrived on Tuesday.

(Okay, so I did jinx it. As soon as I typed that Lucas woke up and Kyla soon followed. But after bottles, diaper changes, and some cuddling, both are back to sleep.)

Anyway, as I was saying… The swing has worked out well. Lucas will sit in it when he’s awake (but not every time) and stays asleep in it for much longer than in the bouncy seat. I put him in it when I needed to take my shower. He was awake, but not fussy. By the time I got out of the shower he was asleep and stayed that way while I comforted Kyla (she did not sleep through my shower), washed bottles, folded laundry/started a new load, and even through me eating lunch! I was amazed! I think the only reason he woke up is because he was hungry. He didn’t want to go back in the swing after eating, but that’s okay. He’s sleeping on my chest at the moment. (Boy am I getting good at the one-handed typing!)

I wish I could say Kyla’s been as easy today. Starting yesterday she became my fussy one. As a matter of fact, here she goes again! BRB!

Okay, Lucas is back in the swing and Kyla is on me… No rest for Mommy!

Anyway, as I was saying, Kyla has been very needy the last couple of days. I just can’t figure out what is wrong. And if you don’t take care of it (whatever “it” is) right away she goes into her screaming-bloody-murder phase. Some time I’m going to have to get a video of that to torture her with when she’s a teenager. 😉

In the mean time, I did take quick pics of the calm before I started to type the first time:

Lucas in his swing

Lucas in his swing


Calm Kyla (don't let her fool you!)

Calm Kyla (don't let her fool you!)

2 Comments

Filed under babies, family, House, Parenting, sleep, stress

2 responses to “Blessed quiet

  1. Cathy Manor

    I am so proud of you for keeping your sense of humor. Just remember for boys when it is over it is over, but girls can carry it on forever. Kyla is just practicing.

  2. Tera Diamond

    Too precious. You sound like you have your hands full. But you knew Kyla was going to be your challenge in in the womb! They never change, only get more colorful with time.

    We move this next week. When I’m in and settled I want to come by again to visit/help give you a breather.

Leave a Reply

