Catching up

It’s been a few days since I last updated on how our new family is doing. It’s been quite hectic around here and I think this is the first stretch of calm I’ve seen in quite some time. I know I should go take a nap, but I’m afraid that the minute my head hits the pillow, someone will wake up. I swear they have some sort of radar that says “If Mommy’s head hits the pillow, puts food in her mouth, or steps into the shower, then someone must scream. And if there’s someone here to help, both must comply.”

The first month I felt like I was actually capable of doing this alone when N is at work. Now I’m admitting defeat and call in help any chance I can get. I think they were lulling me into a false sense of security before. Either that, or that first bit is when they are “easy” because the mother is USUALLY recovering from delivery, so I had half the stress at that time? I don’t know. All I do know is that the more time they spend awake, the more stressed I’m getting. Granted, I love when they’re awake and happy, but it’s hard to keep them both that way when you’re the only one here. So anyone who wants to come over to help out, please give me a call! 😀

Despite being severely sleep deprived, I can’t help but look at their adorable faces and fall in love over and over again. I mean, who can resist this:
Kyla
Or this:
Lucas
Not to mention this:
Kyla & Lucas

Oh, and as for my heart stuff, I just got off the phone with my cardiologist. Apparently my MUGA scan showed arrhythmia and a lower heart function (which could be a false reading because of the arrhythmia). This may be consistent with what she heard (but my defibrillator did not read) at my appointment. So now she wants me to come by tomorrow to have a 48 hour holter monitor put on (it’s not like I have time to shower anyway). Once we look at the results of that she wants us to see if it matches what the ICD recorded. So we’re still investigating. But at least I’m feeling like I’m not completely crazy! (though my cardiologist says she won’t sign off on anything stating my sanity. :p )

Off to play games with N and cuddle with a baby or two!

1 Comment

Filed under babies, doctor's appts., family, heart, husband, sleep, waiting

One response to “Catching up

  1. Lori Shugart

    I am thinking about you and I am sorry I have not gotten over there. I know it is rough but those pictures are darling and they are so cute and precious. I know you love them so much but I understand about you needing help. I am going to be out of town a lot the next two weeks but when I get back, I will call you, I promise! I can probably come over then and stay for a little while. I am still praying for you with the heart thing and hoping this is minor and can be easily taken care of. Please keep us in touch on that! Yes, go and enjoy that time with those babies and thank goodness for Nathan there to help you when he is not working.

    Sincerely, Lori

Leave a Reply

