Upping the ante

I haven’t posted much lately because I seem to have stalled out on the milk production and it’s a bit disappointing to post the same number every day. I don’t know if this plateau is because I stopped taking the herbs (as per the doc’s orders), or if I would have plateaued anyway. I feel like it may be the herbs. And I’m half tempted to start them up again, since we don’t know for sure if they caused the PVCs anyway. But first I have another option to try.

This weekend I’m “upping the ante” so to speak. Instead of pumping 7 times in a day, I’ve managed to pump 9 times already, and will pump once more before going to bed. I don’t think I’ll have any more than yesterday (at least, not based on what I see so far), but I’m hoping it will tell my body “Hey, we need more! Make it faster!!” I’m going to attempt to do the same tomorrow. Unfortunately, I can’t do that on week days, but I’m hoping it will help anyway. We shall see. And if it doesn’t, at least I know I tried. And then I can try going back on the herbs.

This weekend has been an emotional roller coaster so far. I won’t go into details, but suffice it to say, there are times when this whole expecting babies thing is not fun. Hopefully the HAVING the babies part will be much better. Or at least, I’ll be too tired to care.

4 Comments

Filed under emotions, lactation

4 responses to “Upping the ante

  1. Debbie

    It can take up to 24 hours for your body to respond to new things for making milk. So the extra pumping is good for today, but really show a difference until tomorrow.

    • heartjourney

      Yes, I figured it wouldn’t make a difference the same day. I don’t even expect it to make a big difference today. But I’m hoping it will make a difference eventually! Thanks. 🙂

  2. Tami

    You can try eating oatmeal a couple times a day. That isn’t technically a herb but can leave many women feeling like cows when they eat it! I can’t stand oatmeal (unless it’s a cookie and yes even cookies do work) but there were many mornings I choked down a huge bowl of oatmeal!

  3. heartjourney

    Yeah, I’ve been choking down the oatmeal as often as I can stand it (not a huge fan either). I may need to make a batch of cookies, though, to make it easier.

Leave a Reply

