Getting Pumped

Today was the first day of pumping at work. Can’t say it was fun, but at least I managed to do it. Well, mostly. I was so nervous that I’d get interrupted that I was constantly looking over my shoulder. I did, however, manage to do some work while I pumped. Of course, I don’t think I got a single drop all day. Probably because I was so distracted.

I really hope it will get easier. I’m not sure why I was so worried. I mean, most people at work already know what’s going on, and I put a sign on my door saying “Please Do Not Disturb.” I even put up a curtain between my office and the one next to mine (we are connected by a doorway). And I was working on a sound recording, so if someone who didn’t know what was going on asked, I could have said the sign was so no one interrupted my sound recording.

I have had a lot of support coming from people all around me (I cannot say how much having N’s support has meant to me!). I guess I didn’t quite expect that. I kept thinking people would tell me I was crazy for even trying. And sometimes I wonder if I am. But I really do want to try, and pray that God will give me strength through this. I know it will be tough, but I’m hoping it will be worth it in the end.

So to keep track of what I did today:

  • Pumped at 1 AM, 5 AM, 8 AM, 11 AM, 2 PM, 5 PM, 7 PM, and 10 PM. That’s 8 times in 24 hours.
  • Took More Milk Plus and Goat’s Rue, 1 cap each, 4 times.
  • Drank 4 cups of Mother’s Milk Tea.

I still haven’t gotten anything more than a drop or two, and those drops don’t even drip off the nipple and into the pump. I know I need to be patient, but it’s SO hard. I know it’s only been a couple of days, and without the domperidone it may take a little extra time to get things to progress. I just know that as soon as I start getting some significant drops (and more consistent) it will be easier to be optimistic. In the mean time, I’ll continue to pray, and ask for yours.

2 Comments

Filed under emotions, Faith, husband, lactation, waiting, work

2 responses to “Getting Pumped

  1. Yolanda

    If it’s any consolation…I breastfed my three children and had so much milk I could have been a wet-nurse! But, if i had to pump (if I was going out and needed to leave baby behind), it was so hard to get more than a few drops! I had heaps of milk, but only had milk let down when I was actually breastfeeding. I think it was a bonding/emotional thing…& the pump was not a bonding experience at all! Don’t worry if you’re not able to get a bottle full by the time the twins are born…you may find that it all just happens for you too when it’s the babies you’re holding on to, not the pump!

  2. Lori Shugart

    I am praying for you and I will continue to do so. I feel for you and I admire you for you continuing to work on it. I do hope it finally works out for you and I think it will in the end. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

