Keeping track

My LC told me she wants me to write down everything I do (regarding lactation), since I’ll be her first client who has induced lactation (IL) without domperidone or reglan. I told her I already have been journaling the surrogacy, so I figure why not keep track of the IL progress here too? So here goes…

Yesterday was my last day of BCP. Since I take mine at night, I figured it would be good to wait until evening to start pumping. Especially since this meant I would not have to be at work when first figuring out this whole pumping thing. However, I did take More Milk Plus and Goat’s Rue this morning, and at lunch (though I realize now I need to take it about 20 minutes before lunch in order to follow the instructions of not drinking much for 20 minutes following). I got home about 4:00 and started pumping around 4:30. Nothing much was happening, but I didn’t get disappointed, as I didn’t really expect anything on the first day (or even the first few days, to be honest). However, as I finished my second round of 7 minutes (the protocol says to pump 5-7 minutes, massage breasts, then pump 5-7 more minutes) I noticed there was a drop of liquid on the right nipple (sorry if TMI)! πŸ˜€ I was super excited.

I almost forgot about my third dose of herbs, but managed to remember around 6:00. After eating dinner N and I were watching TV (on our brand new 65″, installed today!). Around 7:30 I got out the pump and started pumping while we watched. To my utter amazement I didn’t just get a single drop, I got several!!! πŸ˜€ From each breast (though still more on the right)!!! I cannot believe I actually got something so soon. I hope this bodes well and means it won’t be long before I’m getting actual sprays of milk. I always suspected I’d be a natural at breast feeding. Perhaps I am right! πŸ™‚

I will continue to pray, as I know this is totally in God’s hands. I prayed in the doctor’s office that I would be given a chance to try, and no matter the outcome, I prayed for peace about it. He answered that prayer. I know He has a plan for me, and I pray that I will be able to nourish my babies once they are born.

Wish me luck tomorrow! My first day pumping at work… Yikes!

Leave a comment

Filed under emotions, Faith, hope, lactation, progress

Leave a Reply

