Lactation Consultant

Well, now that I feel like I’m doing better on the healing side of things from surgery, I’ve decided to put more effort into figuring out this whole inducing lactation thing. So this morning I did some searching on the Internet and found a local lactation consultant. I sent her an email and got an almost immediate reply. She told me that I should call her, so I did that this afternoon.

She was wonderfully supportive and gave me lots of advice, including the name and number of an OB who she has worked with for years that has helped some of her clients induce lactation in the past. I am going to check and see if he is on my insurance, and if he is I’ll call on Monday to set up a consultation. I thought about checking to see if my old OB is on my insurance again, but this one is a little closer to home, so I may not.

At any rate, the lactation consultant also sells and rents pumping supplies, so when the time comes I can go to her for that. She told me about the newest Medela pump (the Free Style) that is so small you can hook it to your belt and pump hands free! That would be for after I’ve established my supply, of course. Until then I’ll be renting a hospital grade pump.

I cannot tell you how very excited I am to have talked to her! I’m feeling like this is going to happen after all, despite my GP’s initial protesting. I almost feel like doing this will help things seem more real for me. This way there will be changes happening to my body too, even though I won’t have the babies growing in me. It’s a little thing, but it’s important to me. I had to give up on the hope of carrying my baby. I don’t want to give up on my dream of nourishing my babies too. I know that they would grow just fine on formula, but if I can actually give them something, then I want to give it my very best effort. Mothering and breastfeeding have always gone hand-in-hand to me. I’m not saying that mothers who don’t breastfeed are any less than mothers who do, it’s just something that is important to ME. And it’s important to me that everyone around me supports that. Luckily, my hubby and family do. I’m going to need that support, that’s for sure!

1 Comment

Filed under babies, emotions, family, hope, husband, lactation, progress

One response to “Lactation Consultant

  1. Lori Shugart

    I think it is fantastic that you are going to go for this. You are going to be a great mother. It will be hard I am sure. I admire you for your decisions you have made in all this. I do wish you luck! I also know that the two of you will make the right decision next week whether or not to find out the sexes of the babies. It would be neat to know though but you both have to agree on that. I still am going with a boy and a girl. But who knows?

Leave a Reply

