On the mend

Whew! Recovery is HARD. I’m in mucho pain, but it is getting better. The chest tube and several other wires and tubes have been removed, so at least it’s a little easier to get around. I did end up in ICU, but only because they had no available beds on the regular cardiac floor. However, I’ve just been moved to a regular room. This one is MUCh more spacious, which is a good thing for Nathan and Mom (we were pretty cramped in that ICU room today). There’s even a mini fridge in here!

I expect I’ll be getting out tomorrow. The only thing that might prevent that would be if I get a fever or don’t work on my breathing. Believe me, I’ll be working on my breathing!

LD had her OB appointment and the babies are doing great. We have new pictures, but I can’t get them uploaded right now. Our next appointment is going to be January 19th, which is PERFECT, because it’s a holiday for me and I won’t have to miss school for it! Dr. K even said it would be likely to be able to see the sex of the babies at that appointment. We’re still on the fence about finding out, but it will probably end up being a game-time decision as frequently as we change our minds.

Oh, and LD talked with Dr. K again about delivering naturally and not having an epidural in place even for “just in case.” He was hesitant, of course, but he is going to let us try! I’m so happy about that! Obviously if something is wrong, we’ll reevaluate, but she’s such a pro at labor and delivery I don’t expect there to be a problem so long as Baby A is head down (so prayers about that will be appreciated 😉 ).

Well, I’m getting pretty worn out and will probably doze some more (I’ve been doing a lot of that the last two days). Thanks for all of the prayers! They really work!

2 Comments

Filed under doctor's appts., Faith, heart, hope, pregnancy, progress

2 responses to “On the mend

  1. Lori Shugart

    Wow! That’s great that you might come home but be careful and take it easy! Sorry you are in so much pain! Hope it gets better soon! I hated that breathing deal but I understand why you have to do it. I have been praying for you and hope no more surgeries for you for a while! Man you have done enough! I am glad the babies are doing well! Hope LaDonna is feeling better now! How many children of her own does LaDonna have and has she done surrogacy many times before? She must be a pro and also very used to pain if she can do labor without epidurals. I haven’t experienced it of course but I know my sister insisted on them with all her babies. You know I can see it both ways on knowing the sexes of the babies and not knowing. Surprises are fun yet it also might be nice to be totally prepared.So of course whatever decision you make will be great! But get well, feel better and enjoy the rest of the break!

  2. LD

    Since Niki never replied, I thought I’d answer your questions about me. 🙂 I have 3 kids of my own (and 2 stepkids). I’ve delivered one other surro baby. I’ve had 4 natural, unmedicaed births. Luckily, I tend to deliver quickly (2 – 2.5 hours each), so I’m not in pain long. Hopefully these two little ones will follow the pattern I’m used to…lol.

Leave a Reply

