Making milk

I went to my GP yesterday to see if he might be able to give me anything to make this cold more bearable. Being that I’m already on antibiotics, it’s obviously not bacterial. So he gave me some cough meds and an inhaler, but that’s all he could do.

But while I was there I decided to talk to him about inducing lactation. He didn’t know anything about it (I didn’t really expect him to), but I showed him my book with the protocol and he made copies of the pages that talk about it and says he will be doing research into it. He says he may also talk to an OB/GYN in his building to see if she’s done the protocol with any of her patients before and might have me go through her. He did go ahead and prescribe the Ortho-Novum, though, since I need to be on BCP right now anyway (since we don’t want me getting pregnant) and he figured there was no point in putting me on something else just to switch me. I’m excited that I’m a step closer and that my GP is taking this seriously.

On a side note, I have a pretty good relationship with most of my doctors, so it was fun messing with him just a little. Actually, his nurse was really the one messing with him. I told her I was expecting twins and she looked at me funny (I’d just told her about all of the surgeries lately). I explained the situation and then I heard her in the hallway saying to the doctor “Nicole’s expecting twins!” I shouted out the door “Are you trying to scare him?!” She said “Aren’t you going to go congratulate her?” I heard him say “I’m not sure what to say.” She said “You say congratulations.” I was laughing so hard by the time he walked in. He said “You don’t look like you’re expecting twins.” Of course, by this point he HAD to have remembered our conversation this summer about me pursuing surrogacy because he didn’t ask questions (or faint, as he’d once said he would do if I ended up pregnant). He was happy for me and supportive in my plans to induce lactation.

2 Comments

Filed under doctor's appts., lactation, progress

2 responses to “Making milk

  1. Cathy Manor

    You are amazing!!! Oh yes- BOONER SOONER!!!!!!

  2. Lori Shugart

    Is everything ok? Since there is no message after yesterday’s sonogram, I kinda worry. Just checking! Thinking of you! Lori

Leave a Reply

