Slowest week EVER!

I swear this week is just c r e e p i n g by! How is it possible that it is only Tuesday?! Shouldn’t it be Friday by now?! I’m SO ready to see LD and our babies’ heart beats (Please, Lord, let us see their heart beats!).

At work I have to write out everything I need to get done that day or I sit in my own little world, daydreaming about Friday and our future as parents. It still hasn’t fully sunk in that we will have two little ones to care for in just 8 months. When I’ve imagined our family in the past I’ve always pictured one little child walking between N and me. Now there will be two. Don’t get me wrong, I’m VERY excited and want both of these babies very much. But there’s still a part of me that is absolutely terrified. Especially the way everyone keeps telling me that we’ll need to get them on a strict schedule, be super organized, etc. Do these people not realize who they are talking to?! N and I are the least “scheduled” or organized people you could meet! We have a very laid back style of parenting (from what we’ve seen in ourselves when W visits). I don’t think we’ll be able to change our spots quite that much when the babies get here.

What I need are some examples of laid back parents that are raising twins. No more of these type A, control-freak moms. I need REAL people. I’ve been looking online for resources about raising twins. I’ve put several Multiples books on my Christmas wish list. But I think I may need to go get one for myself now. Just so I can start wrapping my head around the reality of the situation. I mean, how do you pick up two kids at once?? And what about grocery shopping?? Or even just the process of getting into/out of the car??

Ugh! Too much to think about. For now, I’m just going to pray that the Lord will see us through. Which I know He will.

2 Comments

Filed under doctor's appts., emotions, Faith, planning, pregnancy, waiting, work

2 responses to “Slowest week EVER!

  1. Lori Shugart

    I do agree about how slow the week is going so far. I feel fantastic yet I am tired when I leave school each day . yes I do want the weekend to come! I am counting on you getting the sonogram done on Friday and I am counting on you seeing those heartbeats too. So far all has gone right ! I want to read that book Multiple Blessings about the family on TLC with the two sets of multiples -one set of 6 4 year olds and twins that are 8 now. The parents wrote the book with some help I think. Yes! Of course it will be hard with twins but the Lord will see you through! Well I hope the sonogram works out as well as the surgery!

  2. jadine

    I, too, agree that time is passing waaaay too slowly! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am a Type-A, and I am REAL so ppbbbtttt! (insert raspberry-smilie here).

    I think we just get thrown into parenthood, ready-or-not, and all the preparing in the world isn’t enough. Parenthood is the most all-consuming, life-altering, intense, scary, wonderful thing, and I had no idea what I was getting into. I still don’t know what I’m doing. And I had mine one at a time! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can’t wait until the u/s!

Leave a Reply

