Softening???

Okay, so over the holidays W (my 6 month old nephew) stayed with us (and his parents, of course). So N got to spend quite a bit of time with the little guy. He was great with him! And any time N looked at W he got a goofy grin on his face. I tried not to make a big deal out of it, though.

So at one point my SIL says to us “So when are you going to getstarted?” To which my MOM replies “She’s not allowed to talk about ituntil January.” 8-o I could not believe she said that. Knowing how pissed N was going to be with that comment, I tried to pull the focus off of her and said “But not January first.” I could see how upset N was. He said nothing, just got up and left the room. My mom felt so awful. Even started crying. I told her it was no big deal and he would get over it.

N did get over it. We talked a little about it and he admitted that it was silly to get upset about the comment. I tried to get him to explain that to my mom, but I don’t think he ever did.

The next few days were busy and fun. N continued to seek out holding W and playing with him. He loved to make him laugh. And he commented to me, “You’re really good with him.” (even though I didn’t think I was that great with him). I think having W around has made him start thinking a bit more about starting our family. When we were going through the pictures I took he said “He sure is a cute kid. I hope ours is even cooler.” I had to laugh at that. It’s always a competition with him! 😉

So that’s the closest I can come to a surro-related update. I haven’t brought up the subject and I’m not exactly sure how/when I will, but at least it seems like things might go my way. 😉 I’m trying to convince N to go down to Houston with me over MLK weekend so we can spend some more time with them, but I’m not sure if he will. I thought the car ride home might make a decent time to talk… He can’t escape! 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under family, hope, husband

Leave a Reply

