Just chatting

The day I came to the realization that I move from major life goal to major life goal I talked with N and told him that if he didn’t want me to think about “getting a kid” for a while then I’d need to go back to school for my doctorate.  We wound up talking about my side and his side of the issue.  He says he just wants a chance to be in the house for a little while, see how the bills are, and see if he’s going to be changing jobs or staying where he is now.  I asked him when we could revisit the subject and he said “January.  But not January first and not on my birthday…  January 10th-20th maybe.”  Everyone I’ve told that to has laughed and said “He wasn’t serious was he?!”  Um, yeah, he was.  But I’m trying my best to respect his wishes.  I will wait until January to discuss the idea of finding a surrogate.  I will not do anything towards a journey until we’ve talked (not that I’ve done anything other than visit the doctor once anyway, but I’ll play along. 

When I’d asked him more about me “acting different” with kids he told me I was “more maternal or something.”  I don’t quite get that and he did admit it might have been just his perception changing, but it’s now got me paying closer attention to how I’m acting with kids (not my students, but friends’ kids).  I don’t THINK I’m acting any different.  Yes, I’ve said I am different with my nephew because he is my nephew, but that is one kid, not every kid.  And on Friday, when we had friends over (one with a 2 year old) I tried to pay attention to how I acted with her.  As far as I can tell I didn’t act different, but maybe I am and just don’t realize it.  Oh, well.  I’m not going to dwell on it and make me freak out every time I’m around a kid.  

Speaking of Friday, it was my birthday.  And I must say N outdid himself.  First of all, he spent all week getting the house as close to unpacked as he could and invited several of my friends over for a get together.  He made delicious chili and a buttermilk pie (my great aunt’s recipe) for everyone to enjoy.  Everyone seemed to.  After all, I think just about everyone went back for seconds on the chili. 🙂  I think everyone got along really well even though none of them had met before.  I strategically invited people I figured would have things in common.  Apparently I did well.  I think the last person to leave left after midnight.  It was a very enjoyable evening and it was so great to be able to have that many people over and not feel like we were over crowded.  I love our new house! 

I thought that was the end of my birthday, but no, N had more surprises up his sleeve.  After going to lunch with my MIL and BIL we were going to go to some fabric stores to try and get fabric for making curtains.  However, before that N pulled into the mall parking lot.  We never go to the mall.  I asked him why he was pulling in there and he said he was wanting to stop at the game store.  Foolishly, I believed him. 😉  When we got inside he took me to the Mac store.  I just figured he was looking around at the new nanos and didn’t think anything of it.  It wasn’t until he was standing by the MacBooks that it slowly dawned on me that he was here for me.  He wanted to get me a new laptop because I’ve been complaining for months about how slow mine had gotten.  So here I am typing on my brand new MacBook.  It is gorgeous. 🙂 

The topper of the weekend came this morning.  I woke up to the smell of cinnamon  rolls and he was doing the dishes!  Now that’s a wonderful birthday weekend. 😀  I told N I was going to have a hard time topping it for him.  😉

Leave a comment

Filed under husband

Leave a Reply

